The Evolution of Trust

in #game-theory7 years ago (edited)

Recently came across this amazing interactive web application made by Nicky Case which simulates various scenarios of evolutionary game theory with increasing parametric complexity. Pretty interesting stuff with some important takeaways. Stay til the end!

Just wanna share this link: http://ncase.me/trust/

Sort:  

did the entire thing, zero regrets.

Live and let live.

thanks for sharing this.

My score is 26, i try to always coorporate.. i think i'll be pinkyhat's best friend :D

I got 32 when I did it. It truly is pretty interesting and it turns out I'm a copycat. It seems like the best scenario is to be a copycat but I usually cooperate with people until they go behind my back and cheat. I prefer to look for win - wins rather than me just purely benefiting.
Thanks for sharing this great site with us @kevinwong! :)

a very famous study on this has been done in the '70, with a game simulation too. this seems a copy :) (edit: this game is based exactly on the robert axelrod's study I was thinking about :D)

I got 30, I started cheating after a while, I guess the key is to feel out each opponent a little bit better if you want an overall high score ! It didn't feel nice to be a cheater, but you know; sometimes blame the game not the player ;)

Lovely website!

Trust works if you can build stable long-term environments where everyone understands that cooperation can bring benefits for all.

The problem is that there are always people with short-term view points, looking for the latest hustle. If the short-term rewards are big enough, there's no incentive to build the long-term stable environment.

With steemit, there are bot networks currently gaining significant rewards from the short term hustle. If we can shut down those short term rewards and convince those running them of the benefits of bringing their talents to the network in a positive way...well maybe!

Interesting to learn something about yourself at age 34. I'd say I'm definitely in the "detective" category, though be it a rather trusting one. Thanks for sharing this.
Also interesting, I've been on here for a year now and just saw you today! strange how that can happen. I'm almost always just browsing nature and travel stuff though. Maybe that's it?

Very interesting website.

"In the long run people define the game"

I wonder how blockchain will affect trust.

I initially thought blockchain would bring us more trust. But now Im not sure about it. Blockchain could be seen as a game in which we don't need to trust each other. It may take away the incentive to do so.

See, I knew the character that was wearing the bowl hat was fishy. lol As soon as he starting cheating I cheated right back at him. Then the pink character came in, and I cooperated with her all the way.

The detective cheated once and I cheated right back at him, and then we cooperated for the rest of that round. So this was quite a riveting game @kevinwong. It's kind of bad that the always trusting character didn't last long though.

Good article, a bit of a tangent I'd love for someone to apply game theory to steemit and cover rewards/costs for curating, creating controversial content etc it would pretty interesting, although maybe people would use the breakdown to tactically steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97