You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Global Game Jam 2018 Experience - Part I - Digital Fail

in #game-jam7 years ago (edited)

It's always interesting reading about the thought process of someone participating to a game jam, and also about all the problems encountered. Feels like we are exploring the mind of the game maker. If I had to make a game around the word "transmission" I think I would have made a puzzle/strategy game about TV transmissions. Something like having to make sure that all the people watching TV get a signal with the least amount of television transmitters possible. I don't know, just a quick thought coming to my mind as I write this comment :P

I like your idea of combining your three thoughts into one game too, although it feels like quite a big idea for a game that's supposed to be made in 2 days. So I guess the next post will be about that tabletop game ? Waiting patiently for it to appear in my feed ! ;D

Sort:  

Thank you, @ragepeanut, not only for your upvote and your comment- but also for your support. :c)

TV transmissions does sound like an interesting take upon the theme and while I am sure that others did go down that path, I am less sure that they would have gone the way of encouraging efficiency in transmitter deployment. :c) Actually that sounds like a pretty nifty game. You could even add a disaster background and have mobile transmission equipment be put into place to try and cater for a given population in an area. ^_^

Many of my problems stemmed from stubbornly going solo. I didn't want to drag people into a team project where the "programmer" doesn't know what he is doing. ;cP

It is just as well that I went solo - Less people to disappoint. ^_^

I'll be revisiting the subject in the coming days. Thanks again! :cD

Glad you liked my idea ^^

I completely understand why you went solo, probably because I have the same mindset as you on that matter. I would hate to feel like the team failed because of me if I can't do what I said I would, even though I know I shouldn't approach it like that. Because at the end of the day, it's a learning experience more than anything, it shouldn't be taken too seriously. As long as everyone leaves from a game jam with new knowledge, it's a win, even if no game has been successfully made. That's why I wouldn't have put the #failure tag on this article, it feels kinda awkward to me. I'm sure you have learned new stuff from this game jam ! I haven't taken part in a game jam yet but I plan to in the future, focusing on my studies first :P

Thats right. I don't like letting people down - especially to risks that I'm choosing to take on (like trying to learn something new). :c)

In a sense I have been unsuccessful. I have not learnt 'enough' (and still remain quite lost). I've also not created a functioning digital game from that - so the tag seemed fitting. :c)

Its fine though. Acknowledging my failing is important. It allows me to move on easier.

A game jam usually takes just 2-3 days so do consider getting involved in just the one - but focusing upon your studies is certainly wise. /:c)

Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60270.89
ETH 2383.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57