Betting Wisdom | #1 You Don't Have To BetsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gambling7 years ago (edited)

This series will focus on some lessons I learned the last 15 years as a sports bettor

YOU DON'T HAVE TO BET

This is one of the key principles why it is possible to make a profit from sports betting. Bookmakers are forced to offer lines on every single possible sport event, while you are free to pick yours spots. This is a key advantage you have over the bookmakers and you should put it to use. Only bet when you believe you have a real edge. It is very easy to get caught up in the action which most of the time will punish you. When you bet the entire board because it's fun, you will eventually lose out to the juice. Always remember, bookmakers are no idiots, they are experts at setting lines and have the advantage of charging a margin on every single bet which makes lines for the majority of the events insanely accurate. Anyone who claims differently is either a millionaire or in complete denial.


Let me know in the comments what some of the lessons you learned are
Upvote if you want me to continue this series

Picture Source
Sort:  

I learned to avoid betting on teams that I care about. Judgement gets cloudy in those cases, at least for me. I tend not to see anymore how bad some players are and live in the past when the team was glorious.

nice one!
same goes with betting against teams you dislike.

Also when you know a tipster is fan of a certain team and he opposes them it's usually a pretty strong indication and good bet from what I've witnessed in the past.

I appreciate you bringing that perspective up for discussion. I have some friends who have really struggled with gambling - and have battled it for a long time. While I have plenty of demons that I have to fight, thankfully I have been spared that struggle.

I really never feel the need to seek a profit from gambling. It is all fun and games for me. You win some, you lose some. It is all just entertainment for me.

Great post. Behind the sport Future. Continue.

Congratulations @costanza! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65375.87
ETH 3337.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63