We are truly one - Gaia, guardianship and growth.

in #gaia7 years ago

This evening my wife and I sat with the door open. Outside the thunder clapped and bolts of lightning lit up the sky, briefly illuminating the acacia tree with a brilliant blue/white flash. As the thunder rolled and echoed it struck home that our safety was really an illusion. We live on this beautiful blue planet that nurtures us but it can also destroy us with a single lightning strike.

In the video I am sharing, what really got me thinking was how our atmosphere is this paper thin band of blue covering our planet. We all live together on this blue world orbiting our unremarkable sun, (compared to some of the giants out there). We are all made of the same building blocks that originated in the heart of super novae.

… Got to get back to the land and set my soul free
We are stardust, we are golden
We are billion year old carbon
And we got to get ourselves back to the garden

Crosby, Stills and Nash.

Even though we seem worlds apart from our brothers and sisters in other countries, and our cultures may differ, it’s all a matter of perspective. Seen from the viewpoint of the ISS it becomes apparent that we all share the air that we breathe, the balance of life around us is intertwined with our own. We are not alone. Everything we do affects everything around us. We are the self-appointed guardians of our world but earth-mother Gaia is ultimately in charge. If we mess up our guardianship she will erase us like a malignant growth upon her creation.

The sooner we realise that we are one great human family and put aside our bickering like naughty children and grow up, the sooner we can repair the damage that we have already done.

Worlds-Most-Polluted-River.jpg
Image Source

Unfortunately there is a limit to how much abuse our mother can take. Do not let hungry corporations seeking power and profit ruin our future and our children’s future. We have the power to act collectively, let’s hope we can do it before it is too late.

Sort:  

Great post and message so true. Resteemed and upvoted

Thank you so much, we are at a crossroads and we need to get the message out.

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Very true - beautiful message - I wish all people will wake up

We are fast approaching a point of no return, it is not myself that I care for, I have had a good life but my children and grandchildren.

I am frustrated, I have tried to answer your post but it keeps on failing. Steemit needs to really do some maintenance.

Yes I agree with that - o I have lost so many votes and comments for people, steemit is full of nonsense

I am afraid we are running out of time, we are fast approaching a tipping point.

I am afraid that we are fast approaching a point of no return. I do not care for myself, I have had a good life, it is my children and grandchildren that I fear for.

Great post @petruska13, it really gets one thinking. We are but tiny pebbles in a massive pond but the choices we make as a whole can either intoxicate the entire pond or repair the damages we have caused. The power is in our hands and like you said, we need to stop bickering like children and start working towards repairing the damages that we caused before it is too late.

Thanks a lot for your comment. I despair when I see what the leader of the western world is up to. The west has taken a giant step backwards, hopefully the insanity will end soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62966.47
ETH 2631.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79