You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My X-Ray emitter device built from a barbecue lighter

in #gadgets6 years ago

That is an interesting way to use BBQ lighter! Regarding hazards of XRay emission - A couple of generations of people sat in front a similiar device (Television CRT's) although most of the X Ray emissions were blocked.

Sort:  

CRTs have way more current and voltage behind them, but had the benefit of being made of lead glass that massively reduced the x-ray emission. I've never actually tried to measure the x-ray emission of a CRT (I guess because I don't own one anymore), but it's something I'd like to try.

A nice and fancy project! :) Concerning CRTs: I am using an ancient device in our lab, with only a monochrome screen. I need to get my hands on a geiger or similiar, as I am dead sure there is almost no absorption of X-rays from the screen... :) At least I cannot see my bones when I hold my hand in front of it... xD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95