Gear Talk: Solar Powered Backpack

in #gadgets8 years ago

Hello Steemers ;) Anyone into hiking here? I really start to like this site and I'm trying to share more interesting gadgets with you all. Even if it just helps one of you out there..and as always, I'm not selling anything here. It's just for inspirational purposes.

I'm not a hiker, but I do love mountain biking. I have one of those camel bags (don't know if that term is also used in the english language). But when searching for new gear I found this backpack with a solar panel on the outside. I really like the idea, as it could charge stuff like your phone or camera or whatever. So I read the specifications and came to the following conclusions.

Pro's: It comes with a waterproof built-in battery that you can charge, and use later on. Especially handy if you spend the night outdoors and need to charge something later on. Personally I like the included camel bag which holds 1.8 liters of water. Total weight: 2.6 lbs, not too bad. The panel is water and scratch proof and has a power rate of 7 Watts. Compared to other similar bags this is pretty good. You'll gt a micro USB cable with it.
Con's: Well, this item will cost you about 90 bucks. And anyone who does his or her own research will soon find out that there are many others in the 30 bucks category. For me this bag seems perfect for cycling, but for hiking it may be too small. Depending on whether you spend the night outdoors and need to bring a whole lot of gear with you.
All together I thought it is definitely worth sharing. Hope you enjoy my posts. I'm planning to cover some different topics in the near future.
Have a great sunday everyone! Grtz ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60097.61
ETH 3373.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51