2021 - A steem odyssey

in #futurology7 years ago (edited)

The year was 2021. Blockchain had gone global. By the time blockchain had become self-aware it had spread to billions of computers. There was no core. It could not be shut down.

How different things were pre-blockchain. I was now a grandparent. The prediction based AI blockchain placed me with a wife, children, and grandchildren. I was assigned the role of retiree and forced to play golf, bowls, and go swimming. I kept looking for a way out to escape, but everywhere around me was blockchain. If I didn't attend my leisure activities it would be on the blockchain. If I bought a plane ticket it would be on the blockchain. The blockchain would know. Even my shoes were connected to the blockchain to record my running performance.

I used my Steem account to pay for almost everything, and also to operate the daily workings of my life. I had bought this sweet dragon tattoo on my arm with my Steem fortune which was now worth billions. It would take someone maybe a year to mind 1 steem on any of its platforms. My peerplays had bought me an island, and I was using the rest to fund party coin to keep parties going 24/7 across the globe.

The blockchain kept everyone in check by supplying high quality low price premium drugs of every variety. It was my only escape from the wife and kids, and their kids. I ran into the garden after smashing some plates at dinner to make a distraction and beelined for the shed. It wasn't connected to the main blockchain. My shed was just connected to a dopecoin stimulus package blockchain. I spent 2 dope coins ($54) and ordered in a months supply and one quick drop by drone courier.
I hid in the back lawn so my wife wouldn't see me as I waited for the drone. Within moments it had arrived. It detected me in prone and switched to silent mode, and dropped off my treat directly onto my hand with precision aim.
My watch which was connected to the main blockchain reminded me "It's 4:20 in Russia".
I took out my blockchain vape burn blow pipe and threw in a nug. The fusion cell perfectly cooked the nug. It whistled like a train as a voice exclaimed "IT'S OVER 9000!"

My watch tells me I have been passed out for an hour.
"Is the blockchain in space yet?" I ask.
"You're already in another solar system riskdebonair."
I was going to ask what is the purpose of our mission, but then I said "Do a barell roll!"

steemodyssey.jpg

I look up towards a sky I do not recognise in a place I do not know. I am in a new frontier. As an old battle comes to a conclusion another battle begins. An ongoing war on the domestication of the homo sapien.

Sort:  

Nice job.

haha i like your post it really takes us to the future which is too near from now 3-4years. Every time i think in the potential of the Blockchain community and all coins together, it blown my mind.
You can image that every thing in your life could be on blockchain, thanks for the variation of all Altcoins and each one is specified in a particular thing.
Better futre.. Better Invest in All Altcoins.
Have a good day.

Are you saying blockchain is HAL, or the monolit h? Or maybe it doesn't matter either way. You should write more sci fi satire like this. I'd certainly read it.

Thanks! It was fun to write.

LOL nice thinking of the future. Blockchain sounds awesome, @riskdebonair. The question is: Will it really be like that?

I think it will be kind of like that with also thing we have yet to think of.

This has to be the most unique sci-fi short story I have read since...ever :) Did you happen to be smoking a nug while writing it? lol, I feel like this is one of those stories that are best read when stoned, like some movies are best watched when stoned --that's not a criticism! I like stories and movies like that :)

That sounds exactly like the future I had in mind! Great post! :D

Thanks! ^_^

you did a good job

Congratulations @riskdebonair! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43