You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Future of Work (An Abstract)

in #futurology8 years ago

Hmm... Interesting. "Sadly" I've been out of "work" for nearly 5 years because my resume made me overqualified for PT jobs like being a cashier at Walmart or wherever. I say "sadly" because a steady bit of income would be nice. However, I've been freelancing off and on since the 90s. It's feast or famine, but I've done everything from building websites to writing reviews to grocery shopping for the elderly. A jack of all trades and master of none. Frankly, I'm at a point where I don't really want a J-O-B (Journey Of Brokenness). I don't have much but I'm definitely a happier soul. But hey, I won't turn down work because I do like to treat myself once in a while. LOL

Sort:  

I think you're already geared for the future of work and (optional) basic income :)
Soon the specialized 9-5 job positions will face a lot of problems. I can relate as I'm also all across the board and don't really gear myself into mastering anything. They say it takes 10,000 hours to be a master of something.. well maybe the time I'm spending everyday as a generalist is making me a master generalist :p

I've definitely got 10,000 hours dedicated to many things...but I can attribute that to also being OLD and having X amount of hours for stuff. LOL
And I'm spending a great amount of time on Steemit! hahaha! Maybe one day it will pay off? I'm hopeful :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.83
ETH 2464.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43