Sort:  

thanks for sharing this news

I'm good with pushing forward into a new reality. Self Destruction does not sound like a place I want to visit.

I love that the first comment linked to Tim Urban's Wait But Why blog on the Fermi Paradox. One of the best blogs I've come across and this is one of the coolest paradoxical phenomenons out there.

It has made me look at the future in a totally new way. Our societal imagination has been focused around alien life being a likely possibility so heavily that I think it unconsciously shapes our ability to think about the future.

The Drake Equation's math predicts alien life to be bombarding our galaxy at this very moment. So in Fermi's words, "where is everybody?". That blog post does such a good job of highlighting how WEIRD it is that we, up until this point, appear to be alone in the cosmos.

It's made me radically rethink the place that human species occupy in the universe. On second consideration, the universe really is a pretty uniform place, outside of earth, from a complexity perspective. Stars and planets... lots of empty space... more stars and planets. Sort of peculiar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94