Hire a Futurist / Futurologist Today!

in #futurist8 years ago (edited)

The world is partly made of words and ideas. For that, I think futurists are relevant parties to engage with to future-proof companies and organisations. In a way, everybody's shaping the future together, and futurists are here to help improvise on building bridges between culture and technology - all by delivering (hopefully) intelligent narratives and solutions.

It's quite a fun thing to do, being a wannabe myself (I'll limit myself to writing for now). Thanks for the training wheels, Steemit. Here's the Wikipedia entry for context:-

Futurists or futurologists are scientists and social scientists whose speciality is futurology or the attempt to systematically explore predictions and possibilities about the future and how they can emerge from the present, whether that of human society in particular or of life on Earth in general.

Here's what futurology is all about:-

Futures studies (also called futurology) is the study of postulating possible, probable, and preferable futures and the worldviews and myths that underlie them. There is a debate as to whether this discipline is an art or science. In general, it can be considered as a branch of the social sciences and parallel to the field of history. History studies the past, futures studies considers the future.

The reason why I emphasised on intelligent narratives - there's a difference here. Intelligence is a mix of wisdom and intellect - a holistic worldview. Intellect alone is just text-book, algorithmic, and arguably dehumanising. It remains reliable for its own logic, but shouldn't be the only consideration when it comes to our social, shared reality. Human stories are valuable, and may be the only thing of value in the future. Which is why I think many deep-users feel strongly about Steemit.

If you have an enterprise or business, consider getting in touch with the many networks of professional futurists (Steemit should really consider) - including, http://thefuturesagency.com/?fwp_language=english

As for an amateur futurologist like me (anyone can be), I'm hired as long as someone hits that upvote button :) - thanks for reading!

Image source (1)


PS: This is my first time posting more than 3 / day. This is my fifth bite-sized post. Too much? Should I limit myself?


Follow me @kevinwong

Sort:  

Futurist is a good scenario in theory - agreed. How do we define and select Futurists, we need people that ideally have a visionary thinking plus (this is the crucial thing) the ability to implement! @kevinwong

(this is the crucial thing) the ability to implement!

Yup of course, although i think being able to imagine it being implemented is just as important, so others who are more adept would try to figure out solutions to bridge the gap.

yep, the imagination is the first step and basis for all, agreed @kevinwong

This is the difference between theorists and engineers. If it were not for theorists, the engineers would still be redesigning the bonfire in front of the cave.

This is the first I've seen this, why specifically that theorists made the engineers redesign the bonfire not in front of the cave?

The theorists are the ones who envisioned the possibility of leaving the cave, building someplace to move to, a way to move the fire indoors and get rid of the smoke, use the fire to cook, make tools, electricity, et cetera, et cetera. I don't think they made the engineers do anything, but only the tribes with engineers who went along with the theorists plans were more successful, and out competed the others.

I think in a way most people are or can be theorists / futurists, since it's basically what we do having a mind that attempts to predict stuff all the time. Didn't know basic tribes back then shown clear differences between the engineers / theorists / people. What I thought was someone perhaps, built stuff differently and thought - "this is sweet, we could do more of these"

It's similar to the difference between prophet and priest. There won't be a clear division, just some people have more of one than the other.

Ah alright, of course! Thanks, I think it's fair to differentiate between engineering and theorizing :)

PS: This is my first time posting more than 3 / day. This is my fifth bite-sized post. Too much? Should I limit myself?

You better before you get the witchhunt started. :D That's why I feel more comfortable on twitter.

Hmm good advice. One of those days that I just wanna post up whatever comes to mind..

I am in that mood everyday, a comfortable social media environment requires this to expand, but when the crowd is still young, they have plenty of time to be picky. No one here seems to know anything about conversion. You can have 100000 posts of anything with 1% of blogs that attracts readers (conversion) , or 1000 posts of subjectively select content with 1% conversion. After the fourth of July 2016 selective became the norm, a lousy move if you ask me.

What would be a good solution? I think selective is just a consequence of a time - it's limited..

from reading sneak's post today, it seems we are heading towards some form of moderation. I am not sure how that will work. My idea would be to remove flagging and assign moderators to pursue spam/hate/theft etc and shut that down. While at the same time unleash the platform to it's full potential and be inclusive of all content. No one should be worried about making as many posts as they want. Curation will eventually fix itself.

No one should be worried about making as many posts as they want. Curation will eventually fix itself.

I tend to agree here.. hmm. Then I guess we've already quite a few good signs moving forward.

The future is now

It has always been around :)

I'm more into Retrofuturism , but I may give this futurism a go too. I look forward to your future predictions.

I'm also in retrofuturism :) Check out this flickr account!
https://www.flickr.com/photos/darklorddisco/albums

haha cool post! keep it up :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60881.23
ETH 2600.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56