You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Prediction: Coding will be no more by 2040-2050

in #futurism8 years ago

The last point will not happen on Turing machines even with effectively infinite capacity.
And, honestly, I doubt an AI would bother waiting about on the whims of anyone else.

Sort:  

The best part about difficult predictions is that they are rejected on the spot as impossible for X or Y reason. This is what gives them value (the more difficult it seems, the more value the prediction has).

I might be convinced if you could describe a methodology that would lead to it; what you mean by "consciousness" or even what you mean by "Artificial Intelligence".
I have working definitions of these things which probably owe too much to Godel, Escher, Bach.

"Consciousness", in the above context, is exhibiting sentient-like behavior. Obviously, it's just code running in a machine.

As for AI, I'm covered by the wikipedia entry of 2016 on the matte (wikipedia snapchots of 2016 would suffice in the future).

I don't really want to convince anyone. There is no reason for that. It's just a prediction. Time will pass and it will either be proven or falsified.

I used to make a lot of predictions in forums that have now vanished and along with them, my (what I thought would be provable and time-stamped) predictions. So, hopefully, this blockchain will still be around - or its data won't be lost.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58067.54
ETH 2469.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40