You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Prediction: Coding will be no more by 2040-2050

in #futurism8 years ago (edited)

I agree on points 1 to 4. However,5 is highly controversial. We don´t know what consciousness is. It follows from physicalist functionalism,
that consciousness could be created in a computer program,but there is no evidence for this claim.
It has been popularized by popular science journalists who are unaware of the philosophical implications.
Personally I belive that A.I will reach a dead end when it comes to reaching sentience. But we will see. If you are right,it should happen by 2040 I believe. After all,we don´t need to mimick human level brain capacity for sentience. Rats,for instance are clearly sentient beings. An A.I as smart as a rat should then reach sentience,if it´s possible. The reason I don´t believe it´s possible refer to the explanatory gap.

Sort:  

A turing machine, even with effectively infinite capacity, will never have volition like a cat.

If you notice, I used "" in the word. It's because it's not exactly a consciousness. But it will resemble one from the human perspective.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67