You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who Owns The Future? ~Jaron Lanier

in #future7 years ago

As the information economy arises, the older specter of a thousand science fiction tales and Marxist nightmares will be brought back from the dead and empowered to apocalyptic proportions.

The world is an interesting place- statistics say that things are getting better, however, everyone seems to become less hopeful, more cynical. People think that things are getting worse! I'm not sure if this is part of the human condition, or if it is part of the times. I agree with you that cryptocurrency seems to be the answer for many of his stated concerns. I don't know about the value of capitalism, however. It's breaking- but if anything, it is breaking itself. I'm still working through my own ideas about this, but I don't know if true capitalism (laissez faire- style) is actually sustainable. If everyone is working for their own best interests, the powerful are always going to eventually bury the less powerful, despite the fact that this IS NOT in their best interests. Great post, sounds like a really interesting book!

Sort:  

Always appreciate your thoughts. Given what I’ve learned of you, I really think you’d find value in the read. Lanier straddles a strange line with such deep ties to Silicon Valley. When we stop changing, we die.

Are you planning on attending the meetup in Colorado Springs this weekend?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67916.87
ETH 3819.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67