Will AI outperform humans in the next 10 years? A personal note

in #future7 years ago

I want to share this interesting article with you:
https://hackernoon.com/will-ai-outperform-humans-in-the-next-10-years-f59259c75a5b

In my opinion AI will outperform humans soon, if not in the next 10 years, then in the next 20 years.
What will be the consequences for humans?
What and how will we work?

I think my work as an actuary will be done by AI. A small portion of the work of actuaries (e.g. assessment of certain calculated figures) can be done by one actuary per insurance company.
And this could happen to many rather intellectual jobs.

People would have more leisure time, could be more creative (music, arts, etc.), could read more, watch more TV, do more sports, take more (and better ;-)) drugs and would have more time to care about their fellow human beings.
I think most jobs will be about "caring about other people" (provision of personal services), e.g. care of the elderly.

I don't know what kind of work I will be doing in 15 years.
After the price of steem went to 1000 US-$, I will enjoy my "retirement" in a nice seaside house in Croatia or the Carribean with my wife and drink the best rum and do whatever I like.
If this did not happen, I think I'll have to sell my wonderful body (provision of personal services) and do a great service for womankind.

I am very curious about the future.

What are your opinions on this?

Sort:  

I was an actuary before. So true that many work by an actuary can be automated. Indeed, for more high-level work like setting assumptions based on some regulatory requirements, as long as the AI is trained by massive amounts of claim data and can understand wording of regulatory requirements, I do think AI can replace actuaries' work to some extent.

Thanks for your response. Yes, that's why I am looking for a new challenge, ideally in the crypto realm. Fortunately, I live near Zug which could become crypto valley.
What are you doing now?

Yes, it may be harder and harder to be useful in an AI ruled economy. But services by people for people will be needed anyway. And other work, too.
Art. Handcraft. Music. Philosophy. And - how bad - religious Services.

Agreed. But what do we need religious services for if our life in this world is endless (I think we'll reach this aim)? I think spiritual services like yoga, meditation etc. will boom even more.

Look up Ray Kurzweils, theory of singularity...

Thanks, I read some summaries of his theories. Sounds very interesting!

"If this did not happen, I think I'll have to sell my wonderful body (provision of personal services) and do a great service for womankind."
Laughed hard.

I think I'll have to sell my wonderful body

Maybe. But can you show us a picture first? Not necessary naked.

This wasn't meant seriously, but here's a pic from some years ago :-)

Entirely convinced. Upvoted.

This is actually one of the big threat for humans. Don't get me wrong, I think AI's are really interessting, but many scientists says, that it could be bad for humankind, if AI gets to far.
Scientists should watch out! But you know, humans are greedy and bribery is the key for some powerful people. So the technology / AI's could get to the wrong hands and/ or makes itself independent. This independence is only a matter of time anyway.

Have you thought that in some years soon we'll be discussing if letting human being drive is safe? I fear be useless in this new world.

I used to think this was cool, but then one day I realized how bad governments are and how little they think of the people they govern.

I say that AI will take most people out of their jobs, similar to machinery that has already taken hundreds of thousands of jobs from hardworking skilled workers all over the world. AI will start to take over the not so physical jobs, such as office jobs etc..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81