Brave new world Denmark style

in #future8 years ago


Ida Auken, former Danish Minister of Environment, now member of Denmark Parliament published her vision of the future:

 Welcome to 2030. I own nothing, have no privacy, and life has never been better

 Brave new world as it is:

 I don't own anything. I don't own a car. I don't own a house. I don't own any appliances or any clothes. 

Shoes too, may I ask?

Her vision of the future is rather special:

 In our city we don’t pay any rent, because someone else is using our free space whenever we do not need it. My living room is used for business meetings when I am not there. 

This is not bad, hehe:

First communication became digitized and free to everyone. Then, when clean energy became free, things started to move quickly. Transportation dropped dramatically in price. It made no sense for us to own cars anymore, because we could call a driverless vehicle or a flying car for longer journeys within minutes.  

Well, in this excellent world there is a place for me too:

 My biggest concern is all the people who do not live in our city. Those we lost on the way. Those who decided that it became too much, all this technology. Those who felt obsolete and useless when robots and AI took over big parts of our jobs. Those who got upset with the political system and turned against it. They live different kind of lives outside of the city. Some have formed little self-supplying communities. Others just stayed in the empty and abandoned houses in small 19th century villages. 

Full TL;DR here.

Where have I read it? Ah! Soviet Sci-Fi of 1950 - 60th

The future of total Communism 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50