Redefining God, humanity, and consciousness.

in #future7 years ago (edited)

My son just blew my fuckin' mind, man...

Scientists are currently experimenting with integrating our minds with computers. From there it's only a matter of time before brains are mapped and consciousness either uploaded or - for lack of a better word - "transcribed" into machine form. The definition of "humanity" will have to be adjusted to include non-biological forms or exclude its attachment to DNA.

These are things I've thought about before, but where he really blew my mind was in the variety of potential expressions our new forms could take. If "humanity" describes consciousness instead of form, we could make whatever body we want. You could even decentralize yourself! A piece of you could be on one planet and another piece of you could be on a different planet. If your separate bodies incorporated entangled particles, there would be instant communication between your various parts and your consciousness would remain coherent over infinite distances.

I could be a spaceship! My body could be the ship itself. I'd be able to fly and explore space and carry people in my belly to new worlds! Once at a new world, I could download myself into a rover and explore the surface. Or, again, using entangled particles, if each "cell" of your mind is on a different planet, the sum total of all cellular activity; the collective phenomenon that you experience as consciousness could span the entire galaxy! Just imagine what that would feel like. But even that is thinking small.

Maybe what we call "God" is really just a super-powerful alien civilization that's already done what I just described. They entered into a collective consciousness using technology so subtle that we can't understand it and now they exist in an indescribable way throughout the whole of space. They could have sent bits of themselves into black holes and now they exist in multiple dimensions as well as occupying multiple, contradicting flows in time. Food for thought. For now, I enjoy being biological. I still love fucking and feeling the relief of a cool May breeze in the shade after having been working in the sun for a few hours. I'll turn myself into a robot when I get old.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60607.86
ETH 2620.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52