You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Future: An Optimistic Look

in #future7 years ago

This was a fantastic read. I've often daydreamed about what life would be like in the near to not-so-near future, and I've come to a lot of the same conclusions as you did. This makes me want to go back and start typing up mock encyclopedia entries for science fiction things.

I'm still not sold on a UBI based on anything - even crypto - as it still needs to be produced and distributed in some way, but if there is a technology that would allow it to happen, cryptocurrency would certainly be the most viable option. You've earned my upvote, my resteem, and I'm following you from here on out. :D

Sort:  

I'm still not sold on a UBI based on anything - even crypto

I am not a fan of UBI myself, but then again I suspect the future will be unlike anything we've ever seen before so something like it might be necessary or perhaps just go for letting those that can't do things die. I believe there will be work and opportunity for people in the future, but I also believe there will be transition periods for virtually everyone where you are seeking that work, that opportunity, and in those times people still need to eat, still need shelter, etc.

I do not like the idea of UBI managed by any government. That is a recipe for disaster. I like the idea of a blockchain system that automates the process and doesn't really require a government.

This was an optimistic post. I certainly have plenty of pessimistic/dark ideas, but I intentionally avoided them for this post. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58418.48
ETH 2515.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36