How not to make a rainbow cake..... sometimes I suck at being a mum!!!!

in #funny7 years ago

So my daughter came home from school today and uttered the words that have left me reeling....

"Mummy..... have you remembered that it's great British bake off week at school?"

Shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit! Yes of course I have forgotten!!

So my initial thought was to go to the shop to buy cake.... this was met with disgusted looks from my attitude ridden 8 year old..... "Mummy, that's cheating!!!! Besides which I want to make a rainbow cake. "

Shiiiiiiiiit!

So for those of you that don't know what a rainbow cake is, it is one of these...

303-BakingA-rainbow-cake-LH-697e49c9-40a0-43f4-be46-bc78f3f2ca56-0-1400x919.jpg
(Image taken from tesco.com)

I can make a half decent cupcake and victoria sponge cake, but i knew from the outset that this was going to be a disaster.

So we set about making a basic sponge mix.... and as per the recipe, separating the mix into dishes and adding food colouring...

20170620_191606.jpg

So far so good....

20170620_190948.jpg

And that, my fellow steemians, is where it all went absolutely tits up!!! It's one thing baking the layers.... Its another thing building the beast

20170620_195902.jpg

So this is the finished article.....

20170620_205218.jpg

20170620_205138.jpg

I literally suck at being a mum sometimes. I'm confident that my little lady isnt going to be winning The Great British Bake Off although she is more than happy to humiliate me by taking the train wreck into school.

I would post a recipe, but I don't feel qualified to encourage other people........ It doess taste pretty awesome though.... even if it looks like a pile of poo!! 💩💩💩💩💩💩💩

I think I'll cash in my steem dollars to buy cake.... and wine..... and takeaway pizza!!!

Sort:  

You make better cakes than me! So you don't suck, nope. And you know what, you made it with love. Your daughter will remember that!💛

Aw I'm loving the positive angle...... we did have a good time baking it.... the kitchen looks like a bomb site..... I've just closed the door and hoped it would magically clean itself. Xxx

A cake bomb 🎆😂

don't be fooled by pictures

I know what you're saying but even without the photoshop, I'm pretty sure that the cake I was trying to make was a million times better than mine!! X

It doesn't look that bad to me! I bet it is delicious too!

It does taste good..... I havee photographed it at a flattering angle.... those are the best sides!!!! Xxx

Looks pretty damn good to me!

This is amazing, i'm awful at coveting cakes in fondant, nevermind heart shaped cakes!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58607.22
ETH 2616.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43