The Great Pretender or why I don't read books

in #funny7 years ago

tomas.jpg

How come if I don't read books I automatically become less intelligent in the eyes of many people? How come we are living in the most democratic and liberal society ever, but we keep judging people and imposing our truth on them?

I was never into the books. As you can see, I walked into a museum with flip-flops. It is not like I am proud of it... but I am. I mean, it was a long time ago, and I remember that it was damn hot in Mexico that day for me to walk with proper shoes. So where were we? Oh yeah, books.

I am good at pretending and I could easily talk about a book I never read. But I don't want to do that. At this moment I am proud of not reading and watching The Office instead (freaking hilarious). That said, tomorrow when I'll start reading a new book (not going to happen) I'll be proud of myself again. Why? Let me tell you a secret. It is not about the books. It is not about anything else as well.

There is too much stuff to do in this world for us to even process it in our minds, not to mention trying it. I am sad seeing people who pretend that they did it all and been everywhere just because they think it might impress others. It just looks lame. I enjoy myself whatever I do. Life is easier this way. After all, we are all lazy bastards, who find excuses not to do stuff. So why lie to ourselves?

I have never been a fan of reading books and it doesn't make me stupid. My inadequate decisions do.

I have never been a fan of drinking and it doesn't make me lame... oh, wait... It does, doesn't it?

I have never been a fan of suit & tie and it doesn't make me unprofessional. My incompetences do.

I have never been a fan of guns, cars, and rock'n'roll and it doesn't make me girlish. My sensitive soul... well, it doesn't make me girlish as well. But you get the point.

Most importantly I have never been a fan of pretending to be someone else. And you know what? Screw everything else.

So I wish we all keep on doing things we like to do** without fears or constraints, which we only cast on ourselves. Life is much funnier this way.


** - Unless it is related to some freakish stuff like killing innocent girls or not using turn signals. Don't do that.

Sort:  

Fortunately, we all can be as we are if we allow ourselves!! For me at least, I find I'm my own worst critic, sensor and enemy in this regard. cheers to you as you are.

Wise words @natureofbeing Cheer to you too!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.18 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 27 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

You went directly to the point! I have always said that reading doesn't make you more smart; if you read for your own will, it's because you enjoy it whether the books is about jokes or about science.

I don't get why people think that if you don't read, you're a big ignorant. Reading is, first at all, a fucking hobbie, A HOBBIE that is cultivated on some stages of our life, not an imposed obligation with society. It's like writing: Writing a story doesn't mean that you read too much; some writers don't read books except if it's for their own. Not every writer is into reading.

Personally, I love books, but that doesn't make me more smart or less ignorant; reading books make me activate my imagination and I enjoy it.

As i often like to tell to my children: be yourself no matter what other think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94