Sometimes the comments are better than the article...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #funny7 years ago

This, dear Steemians, is a dedication to the wonderful Princess of Wales who sadly left this mortal realm a few years ago.

20 years since she departed and Chesterfield commemorated her passing in its own way.

Here in Derbyshire, we have a tradition of well dressings - something from days long gone where villagers made beautiful pictures from petals and flowers to say thank you to the well for the clean, clear water that was there for them.

This was shown on the news - not sure if it made it to the national news networks, but you can be certain it hit the local news.

The pictures above are there for anyone to see, so therefore, it's public domain and I'm putting them here for you all to enjoy, just as I did when I saw them, last night.

I've just recovered from my laughing-fit so here you go.

Source.

I didn't realise she died of a crystal meth overdose

Could we not have done a picture of her before the accident?

Who was the artist, Camilla?

😱 They could have got an artist to do it, instead of letting a kid make it out of carpet and ham xx

Forest Whittaker called.... he'd like his eye back...

Her teeth are like a witchdoctors necklace

I know she did a lot of work for people affected by land mines but letting some one with no hands create this is beautiful. Well played the council.

Beautiful, gonna keep a picture of this on the mantlepiece. To stop the cat jumping in the fire

And there's me thinking Elton John sang "goodbye Englands rose" , when it was really "good old cock nose"

I'd be growling too if I'd dropped a whole bowl of Weetabix on my head before I'd got round to ironing my other eye.

I hope it will be burnt like a wicker man, to ensure the crops will not fail.

If you say Diana 5 times in the mirror this is what comes for you....

Don't act all surprised by the well dressing. Years ago they couldn't get a church spire right...evolution is much slow than you think.


Source.

At least the vandals won't touch it. They'll think someone's beaten them to it.

I wish people would not be so cruel with their comments. This picture was created in good faith by the Stevie Wonder School of Arts & crafts.

1997-2017? I think they may have her birth and death years a little off unless they're saying that Zombie Diana has finally been stopped...but I suppose a lot of women in their 20s are hitting the sunbeds so I commend them for the social commentary that has been brought up to date.

Can I buy this please.
I work for the prevention of drug abuse society.
This is a perfect example of what can happen.

this should really put chesterfield on the map....just like hanging that monkey did for hartlepool....

Sort:  

Nice post in the world.

Congratulations @writesteem! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65