Why Come You Don't Have An Address?

in #funny6 years ago

download.png

I got a call today from a guy at the temp agency trying to get an updated address. I previously gave them a family residence address in NY and told them I don't have an address out here. The reactions are kind of funny when you tell them you don't have an address. It reminded of the scene from Idiocracy where the main character doesn't have a tattoo to scan and the doctor freaks out. Just replace tattoo with address for my purposes, haha. Here is a clip of the scene for some context if you haven't seen it and I'd also recommend watching the entire movie.

That being said, I do think I need to establish a domicile that is not NY so I don't get as screwed on taxes. I looked stuff up a while ago and think I remember South Dakota being a good option. I could also get a mail forwarding address in whatever state I domicile in. It still won't solve the hassle of companies not getting a local address from me, but whatever. Anyone have recommendations on states to domicile in?

Sort:  

I did New Mexico. Won't say it's the best, but it had things I wanted. South Dakota is a good choice for domicile because it's easy and cheap.

The easy way around the address situation for everything else is ta use a private mailbox service, like a UPS Store. That gives you a street address, and you write down the mailbox number as Ste, Apt, or just #. I even use mine for car insurance.

How's the health insurance there? I have a cheap plan from NY but I'm not sure it even works outside the state.

Can't really compare. I got the extended Medicaid. It's real good.

The NY medical insurance probably doesn't cover much here besides emergency care. When I was traveling more widely with a Bronze plan from Texas, all it got me was price-negotiated meds at Walmart and other chains out of state, and emergency care out of state. I had to haul all the way back to Texas for doctor appointments. The New Mexico insurance has the same deal.

But Brawndo's got what plants crave.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58633.63
ETH 2810.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26