Zuckerberg tapes over his webcam. So what?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #funny7 years ago (edited)

mark-zuckerberg-tape-facebook-instagram-1-1592x796.jpg
link

Last year, in very much an Alien vs Predator-esque crossover promotion sort of way, Mark Zuckerberg posted this picture of himself onto Instagram to give his subsidiary company a plug. Astute viewers quickly pointed out that the facebook CEO has his webcam and microphone sealed with duct tape. Presumably this was done for privacy and security reasons rather than at the request of his wife who finds his bulgy bug like eyes unpalatable during prolonged Skype sessions.

Zuck.png
link

The FBI should really recruit this guy to analyze hostage videos

I found the flood of follow up articles a little baffling: they were mostly in the vein of 'Mark Zuckerberg tapes over his webcam. Should you?' - written in that tone which lied somewhere between dismissively rhetorical and aggressively suggestive, like when your wife casually brings up the fact that the Jones' are planning to put both their kids through private school.

If this successful tech savvy professional computer wizard who's surrounded by other tech savvy professional computer wizards would resort to such measures to protect his privacy, then what hope would a defenseless half-wit pleb such as yourself have if you didn't adopt these very same precautions? - those articles, combined with my own low self esteem, seem to imply. We're not talking about Todd from IT who's only suggestion is to turn it off and on again even when referring to the life support machine, we're talking about Mark fucking Zuckerberg! And if he's slapping some tape over his webcam, you better wrap every inch of your body in tin foil before some hacker gives you AIDS through your computer monitor.

today-we-launched-facebook-live-for-everyone-in-the-final-hours-of-the.jpg
link

Except I wasn't entirely convinced.

Not everyone is an equally attractive target - I highly doubt hackers are as enticed by the equipment my Diablo 3 characters are sporting as much as by Zuckerberg's bank account details, and my Diablo 3 characters are pretty decked out! Then the real question is this: with respect to the degree to which I am easier to hack, do I have proportionally enough to lose to make me an overall more tempting target than the founder of Facebook? To that, I'm not sure - I may very well be slightly more of a loser than I am an idiot, in which case I'd be logically exempt from taking the same precautions as Zuckerberg. After all, with little power comes little responsibility. Hiliary Clinton, on the other hand, really should had been paying attention.

This is all moot of course, for in reality I don't have a webcam, so I'm going to save the duct tape for my captives in the basement.


If you enjoyed this article please follow, resteem, comment and smack that upvote. Oh and steer clear of that flag button, it gives you herpes

Sort:  

unless his laptop screen says on it, "Mark Zuckerberg" on the top-right (where he can click to log out or switch to another user -- such as the corporate admin's user), I wouldn't believe it to be his laptop xD

That is interesting. I had never heard or seen this before. Perhaps I need to invest in some duct tape. ;)

Good, I'm glad I'm not the only one making good use of my basement :)

Resteeming for you and calling my steemit feed days over for now :)

Thank you very much =)

I remember reading about how hackers are hacking an exploit in the pacemakers, maybe in a few years Mark Zuckerberg will be forced into wearing a tinfoil shirt :)

hahaha tony stark eat your heart out =)

And the crazy thing... We chose this path of censorship and data collection... Our paid for protectors are more interested in attacking the enemies in the shadows then defending our privacy and safety.

Aye, we'll have to break through the impenetrable wall of duct tape with which our overlords have fortified themselves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54