I Can Make You a Cake For Less Than $1000

in #funny6 years ago

To begin with, the only reason I stopped to take this picture of a cake display in the bakery department of the local grocery store was for the typo.

I'm not the kind of freak who stops to admire cakes, and in my whole life I have never bought a pre-decorated cake, though I have nothing against anyone who does.

I just saw the misspelled word on their display case, shot this photo for evidence, and went on my way.

IMG_0351.jpg

Not That Kind of Freak

I'm not the kind of freak who loses sleep over a misspelled word here and there, and in my whole life I've misspelled many thousands of words. In fact, it was only a few years ago that I learned how to correctly spell the word misspell because 'misspell' doesn't look right to me, and even now, I don't particularly like the way that word is spelled.

Again, it's no big deal, but here's the correct spelling of the word in their display sign, I looked it up and made a neat screenshot:

Screen Shot 2018-11-05 at 8.07.52 PM.png

I'm no undercover grammar cop, I don't have what it takes, but I just took the picture, and forgot about it until I got home and uploaded it to stare at it for a while. Bored with grammar, I looked at the cakes, and then their prices. I guess I was a little surprised to see that one of those cakes cost nearly $80!

Cake- $75

Now, I'm not the kind of freak who squawks about the prices of things in grocery stores, I just calculate what I need to buy, and if they have what I need, I buy it if I have enough money. If I don't have enough money to get all that I need, I can hardly blame the grocery store for that.

It would be even sillier for me to complain about the cost of a product if it was something that I don't need, and I can think of dozens of products that I'm glad I don't need, but the cost of those products is not part of my consciousness at this point in time. This is one reason, for example, why I don't care how much a pickled egg costs. It's not interesting to me, though I have nothing against anyone who enjoys pickled eggs, or anyone who might subsequently complain about the price of said egg, but I am drifting here. Cakes.

IMG_0351 (1).jpg

plus sales tax... barely $80

Current Cake Costs Cause Local Shopper to Forget Typo on Display Case in Photo

I spent some time on that headline, so it stays. It was when I uploaded the photo of those cakes in the display that I finally got a good look at the two under the glass. Then I saw the price tags. Man was I glad I didn't need a cake that day.

  • Autumn Tree cake- $36.99

  • Sunflower cake- $75.99

What a strange world I live in. That's a lot of dough for a cake. I can't imagine needing a cake that badly. I can't imagine plopping down 75 bucks for a cake. Is this society really that rich?

I'm glad to see an artist getting rewarded for their craft, though, and if I was asked to build such a cake as either one of those in that display, it would cost my client hundreds.

I Can Make You a Cake for Less Than a Thousand Dollars

I can bake cakes, been doing it my whole life, but now I'm an artist, and if I'm commissioned to do an edible sculpture of any size, it's going to be expensive. Who needs cake that badly?

Of course, I'm the kind of freak who used to beg my mom to bake a cake, or make cookies, something, and finally one day she said, "Why don't YOU make a cake?"

I had honestly never thought of it, being only 7 or 8 years old, but she was right, and soon I was building double-tiered, fully iced cakes, I didn't need an occasion and didn't need to know how to spell it; my mom gave me the recipe, we cracked some eggs and got out the beaters and just made a cake. Easy as pie, as they say.

Anyway, as it turns out, this lesson in cake-baking was apparently a very valuable one. If I fall on hard times, I can always start baking cakes. Mispeled words cost extra.


all images above are mine 2018

IMG_4721.jpg
thanks for looking in!

Click @therealpaul for more

Sort:  

I love your eye for detail!!!

but on to the cake conundrum.... I am not really a bought-cake connoisseur but that $80 cake is hideous and doesn't even look like it would taste good! it's sitting on cheap cardboard to boot!

"That's a lot of dough for a cake" i'm sure you wrote that on purpose 'a lot of 'dough' even though cakes are made of batter not dough, but made me laugh.

Here's cake that could be $80 (or more?!!)
cake.jpg

cake 2.jpg

cake 4.jpg

I never even figured out what that cake is supposed to represent, but I guess it's your basic 'sunflower on an old stump, but also with a white cake on top'. It's ok, but no way is it an $80 'sunflower on an old stump, but also with a white cake on top' cake.

You're 'on' today, LOL! My wedding cake had a fountain on the bottom of it, a running fountain, but I have no idea what it would cost since the woman who made it was a friend of my mom's and it was a gift. But I could definitely see why that cake would be 80 bucks or even more, not so much the flower on a stump with a white cake on it. Unless that's supposed to be a puffball? If you're paying 80 bucks for a cake you should be able to tell what it is, that should be a rule.

Your mom has some cool friends sounds like! When a cake gets its own chocolate fountain it becomes priceless, which I would expect for your wedding, of course. Oh wait, was yours a beer fountain? Either way, a cake with an electric cord attached and pump is more like an edible robot sculpture thing, way beyond the $80 mark.

Ha, not chocolate or beer, just blue water, but it looked really cool! Four tiers on that one, held up by these miniature pillars. And it was as tasty as it looked. I lost a good portion of my photo albums in the shop fire (we had a lot of stuff stored there and in a camper directly behind it that also burnt), but I think I have one of the cake somewhere in a box, I'll have to dig it out.

"Never met a cake, I didn't like". -W.C.Fieldds
That is one spendy dessert. I love when you find classic things like this, the cakes, and the misspelling, to write about and photo. Life is so FULL of such anomalies. And they really crack me up. Can't believe they misspelled the display. I can see it on the cake, but the display, pretty bad. There is a site called 'bad cake wrecks', that's pretty entertaining. I guess there's an idea out there for just about anything. You just gotta think of it first.

You had a smart Mom too, the obvious, right in place, go make your own. I remember thinking as a kid, "I'm going to eat cake, ice cream and candy bars all day long, when I grow up". Somehow, we just get a bit smarter as we grow older and bigger. Sigh. But I STILL love cake.

When I finally got a place of my own, with my own money, I bought a box of Boo Berry cereal just because I could, or because I had begged for it but never got it when I was little. I guess my old friend and roommate remembers that too, he reminded me recently.

Hmm. Sounds similar to what my father went though - his mother told him and his siblings that if they wanted to lick the batter, they had to help in the kitchen. Because of that my father's an excellent chef.

In fact, most of my siblings are also fairly competent in the kitchen. I'm not so much so, mostly because my siblings always wanted to cook/bake stuff, and I was just willing to help. So I got sidelined. I've caught up a bit, mostly since it's a useful thing to know, but I'm no expert.

Unlike my mother who can decorate cakes like an expert, and could probably sell them for some ridiculous sum. She doesn't, she only does it as a labor of love, but still...

One of her many marketable, but unmarketed talents - she can also make incredible costumes, she has done so numerous times in the past for my younger sisters. A retro vending machine, a starbucks frappachino, a can of coke, a washer and drier, A carousel and ferris wheel. My sisters had a lot of amazing costumes. I still think my mother should have sold them afterwards.

But I think I've completely digressed by this point. In any case, I do appreciate a good misspelling, and yes, I mispell the word misspell too.

I'll always appreciate my mom's way of tricking me into the kitchen like that! No problem with digression here, this whole post was designed for it, pickled eggs and all.

I've never had pickled eggs. Wonder what they taste like...

Perhaps they're more similar to... well, I actually have no idea what they'd be similar too. Gonna have to figure that one out later.

Be that as it may, digression is a rather fun concept, almost as fun as discretion, which I lack.

Oh, by the way, did I tell you about-

Shoot, I'm not supposed to talk about that. Sorry, gonna have to keep it under wraps for now.

I guess I would hope that it tastes like straight vinegar to hide the taste, but I've never dared a pickled egg either.
Now that's some impressive practicing of discretion, you've got it down to an art.

Hide what taste? We're not sure what it tastes like anyway, remember?

Unless you do know and you've just been being discrete. In that case, nicely done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78