What's Your Phobia???

in #funny8 years ago

Yesterday I came across a post on 9gag explaining a phobia I never knew existed but it is something I've had ever since I was little. I tend to have irrational fears of many things. So today I decided to list a few irrational fears that you might have.

enter image description here
Image Credit

Definitions:

  • Phobia: an extreme or irrational fear of or aversion to something
  • Fear: an unpleasant emotion caused by the belief that someone or something is dangerous, likely to cause pain, or a threat

Now yesterday I found out about Thalassophobia. It is the fear of the sea, or fear of being in the open ocean. I do feel like it's not only that. Have you ever had an irrational fear of swimming in the deep side of the pool at night.

Does this image apply to you?
enter image description here
Image credit

I'm going to admit that as an adult I still feel uncomfortable swimming when it's dark.

Does this image disturb you?
enter image description here
Image credit

Then you might have Thalassophobia.

Anatidaephobia
http://i.dmarge.com/2015/02/fears.jpg
Image credit

This is a pretty funny phobia, probably not to someone who has it but it made me giggle.

Pogonophobia
enter image description here
Image credit

I wonder how many men have this phobia...

Omphalophobia
enter image description here
Image credit

That phobia must suck... I do know a few people who don't have belly buttons... In my mind it would be smarter to fear them...

Coulrophobia
enter image description here
Image credit

Okay clowns freak me out too. I don't think that it's irrational to fear another person hiding their face.

Hippopotomonstrosesquipedaliophobia
enter image description here
Image credit

Another one that made me laugh. People with this phobia probably doesn't use the term for it.

Cynophobia
enter image description here
Image credit

I wouldn't call it an irrational fear. Some dogs out there are terrifying... Rather safe than sorry.

Nomophobia
enter image description here
Image credit

I read somewhere that it is the phobia most common in today's youth. Being a youth myself I wouldn't say that I have this phobia. I can leave my phone at home when going out and it doesn't bug me. Only when I don't know where it is I get stressed out a little because I think about how much it will cost to replace it. And ofcourse all my lovely photo's... Speaking of which... backing them up now.

Here are a few that I didn't mention:

enter image description here
Image credit

xoxo
@thegoldencookie

Sort:  

My fear is the fear of being insignificant.

That is a pretty decent fear I think.

Great post and very interesting

I laughed at the duck one too. But totally understand the clown one!

I would most likely attack a clown that got anywhere close to me.

I would probably just inwardly whimper and slowly back away, pretending to be oh, so casually, just happening to be going somewhere else ;-)

I'm the kind of person who makes a scene... I run away screaming... You should see me with mosquitoes (demon spawns from hell) I hide under blankets with insect repelent whenever I see one. It's kinda funny

Thank you for putting a smile on my dial this morning @thegoldencookie Not to laugh at any one who has these but......the fear that somewhere, somehow, a duck is watching you.... :)

I was laughing too... When I saw it I knew I had to add that to my list

This article is very interesting! good work!

Thank you. There are many, many more phobias out there https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_phobias

Yeah i know, and some of them are so weird that sound fake. Is an interesting theme

I have an irrational fear of balls traveling through the air in my direction

Great post. I definately have a few of those.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42