I was close- Comedy Open Mic Week 3, Entry #2

in #funny6 years ago

Accountant.jpg
source: http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-NhmpHjXqX4g/UhdOSCykZdI/AAAAAAAACKM/FZGZu4RmMEE/s640/Accountant-Green-Visor3.jpg

When I applied for my current job as an accountant, the interview process was tough. In the middle of the process, out of the blue, they asked me, "What's 5 plus 4?" I was caught completely off guard, and began wracking my brain.

Concentration 2.gif
source: http://welikeit.fr/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/Misfits-Telekinesis.gif

When I had the answer, I blurted out, "Twelve!". The rest of the interview went smoothly, and as soon as I got home, I pulled out my Sharp 10-key calculator to find the answer.

10 key calculator.jpg
source: https://www.roberthalf.com/sites/default/files/Media_Root/images/blog-fa/cpa-at-work-fa-05-10-2016.jpg

When I saw the correct answer was 9, not 12, my heart sank. Kiss that potential job goodbye. But to my surprise, a few days later, they called back and made me an offer, which I accepted. After working for a few weeks, my curiosity got the better of me, and I asked my boss why they had decided to hire me even after I had failed the pop math quiz during the interview.

He replied, "Because out of all the accountants we interviewed, you answer was the closest."

(My title says "Entry #2", but this may be first entry. I'm not that good with numbers.)

I nominate @aussiesteem and @cryptoroast to join the Comedy Open Mic challenge

Sort:  

Close enough counts in horseshoes, hand grenades, and mathematics.

And Russian Roulette.

Zing. Nice punchline accounting for the perfect stereotype.

Thanks! Love the pun, but I think it would take an accounting coworker and myself standing on either side of you, telling groaner "dad" jokes to make the perfect stereotype.

Wasn't planning to enter this week, with my busy schedule, but if you insist, I wrote something fast hehe :D

Excellent! Never too busy to put something out there. The boss can wait on the projections, that patient doesn't really need a heart, the fire will eventually burn itself out...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64373.04
ETH 2775.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66