Stitchy's Chicken 'N' Dumplin's! Looks Like Dog Food, Tastes Like Ambrosia!

in #funny6 years ago

I seriously miss cooking.


I haven't had much access to a kitchen since hopping around Australia, so I actually look forward to getting to do it again.

Not to say that I am actually any GOOD at it, but it is definitely something I enjoy doing.

You wouldn't think it, though, considering that when I AM cooking it is usually accompanied by me mumbling like a mad woman and sweating like a whore in church while I attempt to put things together in a way that will result in something SOMEWHAT appetizing with what I have on hand.
Occasionally you'll hear the unmistakable sound of some kind of mishap followed by fervent swearing and a:

"It's fine... I'm fine."


I would say that about 90% of the time I leave the kitchen with something that at least passes as food.

The other 10%... we don't talk about. We throw that in the yard and pretend it never happened.

"What's for dinner?"

"Disappointment and apathy. Also, cereal."


I do, however, have some recipes up my sleeve that sometimes impresses. In fact, I was once told that I make Spanikopita like "an old Greek woman" BY an old Greek woman. That is a compliment (and personally altered recipe) that I hold close to my heart and will defend to my death.

Sorry, I won't give that one up. But I will give you the recipes for my favourite soups! I've spent a long time tweaking them while on a pretty tight budget and the end result was a very quiet meal. (Usually when you hear nothing but spoons, that is a good sign!)

But, I will give you one of my other favorites! It is cheap, somewhat fast, and will literally feed an army. If you don't want leftovers, you might want to half the recipe.

It is definitely a southern comfort food!

There are a lot of recipes out there for it, but this one is mine! It came to be while I was wandering around the kitchen and raiding the cabinets to see what we had around that I could make into a meal.

soup.jpg

It doesn't look like much, but goddamn, it is tasty.

Stitchy's Chicken 'N' Dumplin's


You will need:

  • Large stock pot
  • 5-6 boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 can condensed cream of mushroom soup/ 1 can milk
  • 1 can condensed cream of chicken soup/ 1 can milk
  • 2 tablespoons chicken bullion (I use the Spanish knorr brand, this is also an optional ingredient)
  • 1 tablespoon condensed creme de leche milk (also optional)
  • Cracked black pepper
  • Garlic powder
  • 1 can of peas (or mixed veggies if you want more of a chicken pot pie feel)
  • 2 cans of biscuits (you can also use drop biscuits)

Fill a large stock pot about half way with water to cover thawed chicken breasts.

Boil until chicken is fully cooked, making sure to skim the rendered fat out of the water as it cooks and discard. (Or save for roux bases/gravy.)

Remove chicken and turn down heat. Shred or chunk chicken to your preference and return to the pot.

Add soups, milk, peas, and turn to medium high heat, stirring occasionally until soups blend. At this point you can taste and season as needed (and decide if you wish to add bullion or condensed milk).

I usually let the soup cook right below boiling for about 2 hours so everything marries.

Cut biscuits into very small pieces or prepare your drop batter.

At this point, get your soup to boiling before adding the dumplings. (If the soup is too thin, you can mix all purpose flour or cornstarch with a small amount of water into a paste and add to the center of the boiling pot, stirring until desired thickness is acquired, but the biscuits WILL add some thickness to the soup)

Add all the biscuit pieces, stirring to make room, and cover the pot. Allow it to cook on boil for about another 5-7 minutes or until dumplings are firm.

Serve up, and enjoy the silence of the ensuing food coma!



If you try it, let me know what you think!





stitchhead.png

gif credit to Giphy!

Sort:  

This is a childhood favourite! Yummy! Your recipe is pretty close to my mom's. I always liked the leftovers too.

Oh man, the leftovers somehow seem better than the first round! nomnomnom!

Oooooo I might try this sometime this weekend (and by try this, I might mean beg my husband to make it because I am a natural disaster in the kitchen)

You should natural disaster this recipe! I know that I did! :D Let me know how it comes out if you guys try it!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 13 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 17 SBD worth and should receive 90 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

You know, I think you just solved my dinner dilemma...

I have a couple breasts thawing and was debating if I was going to be lazy and just roast them or make some pot pie.

Dumplings it is! 🍲😋

Yaaaaaaaaaaaay! How was it?! :D

I ran out of time so they got thrown in the oven 🙁

This is bookmarked though because we love dumplings around here and this recipe is pretty different from mine so I am looking forward to trying it!

Love your writing style. I too have a graveyard for the 10% we don't talk about.

Can you get @sammosk to be an interpreter because as australian when you say to put biscuits into soup, I am hoping to goodness that you mean some different american thing. Also Ausralia does not have condensed creme de leche milk... or at least, not by that name.

Hahah! I mentioned biscuits and gravy and he turned his nose up! Biscuits in Murican are kind of like scones!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Biscuit_(bread)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62924.41
ETH 2436.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52