Raised Eyebrows

in #funny7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever wonder how somethings just "happen"? Like you wake up and the sky is blue or birds are chirping, seems like it's gonna be a great day, then shit happens. Well, for those of you who don't have children, this story will not be lost on you, because you all, have in some way done what I am about to tell you.

Like I said, it seemed like a normal day in the neighborhood, a friend was visiting, someone who I hadn't seem in over tens years, the house was clean, my 8 year old child was playing with her friend outside, normal right? Well, when you ask your kid to go take a shower, get cleaned up and they go, that is your first clue to the impending disaster about to happen. Still oblivious, I went on talking and entertaining like a single person.

Red alert at 4:25pm my husband came down stairs talking in what sounded like panicked broken Chinese "You need to go up stairs, your daughter, shave eye brows, shave eyebrows!!" I said calmly, while my newly acquainted friend watched on, "What did you say'? "Eye Brows, Eye Brows" my husband yelled at me. I remember reading that people in my husbands age group are prime candidates for psychotic breaks, so I said again very calmly, "What"? "You need to go upstairs and see your daughter, she is crying, she shaved off her eye brows." I sighed deeply, thinking of course she did. This is the same kid at 5 years old who ordered dog toys from China through my eBay account. So, I am not surprised, I am worried there may be a bloody eyebrow massacre in the bathroom, but not surprised.

I walked into the bathroom and tried not to laugh, yes, my child has shaved her eyebrows off, but not completely, some small bits still remained. She also shaved her arms and legs. I reminisced mentally about the time I gave myself sideburns in the third grade and could hear my mother saying "Payback" I asked her why and she replied " I don't know, the shaver was there". So, I neither laughed nor yelled, I simply said " Would you like me to draw them back on" She stopped crying and said " No, I think they look fine." I asked not to shave anything ever again, or at least not until she could drive. I reminded her about the time she cut her dog Mitch's fur and that she could have cut herself or the dog. She agreed using sharp devices to cut hair off yourself or others, wasn't as cool as she had thought.

Seemingly unphased she went downstairs to visit. I then realized she was heading towards my friend who had not yet met our daughter. Again, with one very large deep breath I muttered," This is out daughter Sophia, she has Alopecia"

Sort:  

Congratulations @shootshappens! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69718.72
ETH 3746.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81