Moana: Tamatoa Is A REAL Creature!

in #funny7 years ago

I wasn't a big fan of Moana. The characters just didn't connect with me. But I DID like Tamatoa! He reminded me of Deadpool, except as a massive crab-monster with a Kiwi accent in a kids movie.

Anyway, in his musical number there is a lyric that breaks through the 4th wall and demands you to investigate:

Maui man, you could try, try, try
But you can't expect a demi-god
To beat a decapod (look it up)

Look it up? OK... let's see... "decapod" eh?

....

H7iEm8CKI9ZAs.gif

This is a Coconut Crab

maxresdefault (2).jpg

The coconut crab (Birgus latro) is a species of terrestrial hermit crab, also known as the robber crab or palm thief.

wiki

Let me use this one for some size comparison.

7hixUzz.jpg

I guess the one on the left is an adult. The one on the right is a juvenile.

You couldn't pay me to touch one of these.

Anyway... aside from being the largest land-living arthropod (Phylum - Order: Decapoda) in the world, measuring in at an average of 1 meter (3ft, 3in) from leg to leg, there are many clues that Tomatoa is actually some kind of a glorified, anthropomorphized Coconut Crab.

1. Coconut Crabs are known to steal shiny things

Anything left unattended on the ground is a potential source of food which they will investigate and may carry away - thereby getting the alternative name of "Robber crab."

This is obviously the whole thrust of the song and the main property of the character, Tomatoa

2. Coconut Crabs are cannibals

Climbing is an immediate escape route (if too far from the burrow) to avoid predation (when young) by large sea birds, or cannibalism (at any age) by bigger, older crabs.

Exhibit A:

3. I heard about a thing where crustaceans can continue to grow so long as they have enough food and are unobstructed

I was looking this up but couldn't find anything quickly so I gave up. But one could assume that Tamatoa's grandma would have provided plenty of food to give him a good start!

Anyway, that's about all.

Follow me @shayne

Sort:  

I thought Moana was awesome but we can agree to disagree. As for the Coconut Crab...they look like they could easily eat a chihuahua or maim a human. I suppose I could be paid to touch one but I'd need to be a trillionaire afterward. To buy new limbs.

Aaaaaand I've changed my mind. I'd rather die poor. Thanks.

I agree Tamatoa was my favorite part of the movie. Thanks for sharing the pictures of coconut crabs which look both cute and scary.

Thanks! I assume that the writers wanted people to discover the coconut crab. Interesting creatures we have on this planet of ours.

I would NOT want to touch one, though.

Those are some massive looking scary crabs!

I couldn't agree more. It's one of those things that looks like it should probably be extinct… but it isn't :/

It's scary how much details Disney creators paid attention to, almost everything is made and revised FOR SOME REASON. And it's not there just as fillers. I recently watched a youtuber explained his theory that there is real evidence that Moana is Maui's daughter. And the devil's in the detail.

Video is here :

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57030.30
ETH 2858.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62