2 Great Reasons Why YOU Should Join the Steemit Book Club!

in #funny7 years ago (edited)

IMG_4989.png

Did you Know Steemit has a Book Club?

The community, intellectual conversations, and friendships forged in the fire 🔥 of mentally flexing through challenging tomes...

Has added a flavor to my life to which I was previously unaware was lacking.

We are nearing the conclusion of our second book: "Infinite Jest" by David Foster Wallace.

The book club is personally led by literary celebrities:

NINE time New York Times Bestselling author, father, and leader of men, Neil Strauss:

@neil-strauss

IMG_4993.png

@the-alien , tech and crypto genius and literary aficionado guides the group.

IMG_4994.png

We no doubt collectively experience fresh neurogenesis during our weekly scheduled one hour phone calls, which I have affectionately come to refer to as one of my most treasured brain trusts.

We also have a heckuva good time, with plenty of laughs paired with the insights in a discussion which sincerely ought to merit college credit in the final analysis.

The book club is open for EVERYONE to join!

Mentally stimulating material, guided by professionals in their field, with true friendships organically built in the process.

Could it get any better?

YES!

Those book club participants who finish the book and participate in at least 75% of the calls share in the Steem rewards!

How MUCH in Steem rewards, you may ask?

To find out, follow @neilstrauss , @the-alien, and
@scan0017 to find out!

I will announce what I have received when the Steem rewards are distributed, in the very near future!

We are almost finished reading Infinite Jest, and it's a BIG one...

How big?

IMG_4987.jpg

Oops - Appropriate accuracy of translation, but let's break it down like a fraction:

Airport scale (used for ABSOLUTE accuracy):

IMG_4778.jpg

Luggage weight without Infinite Jest = 12 lbs.

IMG_4779.jpg

Luggage weight WITH Infinite Jest = 15 lbs.

Infinite Jest is 3 POUNDS big!

Reading it WILL make you smarter (if you don't wipe off your own map ((off yourself)) before you finish reading it).

Inhaling proudly

I didn't even need a calculator to work out THAT particular math problem; I did THAT, all in my own head. 🤔 🙂

Right then.

WHY, in the world, did I bring Infinite Jest to the airport?

Because I was 'up in the air' last Monday, and had to miss last week's Book Club call.

As we are in the final lap of our current book, I thought, in honor of Steemit, for the purpose of promoting the book club, and to entertain those of us IN the book club, whom I've come to regard so dearly, I bring you:

INFINITE JEST:
ON TOUR in FABULOUS LAS VEGAS!

IMG_5031.png

Look at the JOY this book inspires!
Neil, if you want to start "Infinite Jest" game, it WORKS. 😊

Don't tell Mystery though - he'd probably get a little red wagon and tow around an entire set of Encyclopedias...

You all saw the 3 pound weigh in at the beginning of the journey... WE CONTINUE!

Whew! Made it through security 😀

IMG_4995.png

Lounging in the Delta Skyclub.

IMG_4996.png

Something's missing...

Ahhh! Much better!

IMG_4997.png

Nothing goes better with this book than half a glass of scotch!

Well, I suppose maybe Adderall...

Warning!

Danger Will Robinson!

Do NOT try to read this book in a washroom, even one the size of a New York apartment.

Your ass will fall asleep and your feet will atrophy and die.
Unless you're a lizard 🦎 and can grow a couple more, just don't.

IMG_4998.png

Airport sushi: ALWAYS a good idea.

IMG_5004.png

Sharp and polished shoes are KEY if you're going to try to look smart carrying around a book like this in public...

IMG_5005.png

Do. Not. EVER. Forget:

Blow dry your shoes, son.

IMG_5007.png

Here's around where the scotch or possibly adulterated sushi kicked in and I started getting crafty:

IMG_5009.png

Glad Infinite Jest didn't bail on me to the right; that would've been neat:

IMG_5010.png

RELAX, everyone: I only took this photo because I love the color blue:

IMG_5011.png

"Infinite Jest," shiny (blow-dried) shoes, First Class, more alcohol.

Perfect 😊

IMG_5014.png

To those who know: The book was better than the food.

IMG_5019.png

I was ATTACKED by a savage beast at the baggage claim trying to steal away my treasure!

I barely escaped without a scratch from the evil Grendel...

So thankful the Queen of the beast did not utter the word "Dracaris"...

IMG_5020.png

IMG_5021.png

En route to the Las Vegas strip, thankful the driver did not accelerate sharply, or just like Mcgregor saying to Mayweather: "If this were a REAL fight, I'd KILL YOU!"

This book would have killed me like a big brick to the head...

IMG_5022.png

Lovely accommodations:

IMG_5023.png

Wonderful elevator lobby,

IMG_5025.png

IMG_5026.png

Lots of VERY high stakes gambling!

Check out that bet!

What?!?

IMG_5028.png

IMG_5030.png

Book club starts in 25 minutes, so I leave you with this: 😀

IMG_5031.png

And, the end:

IMG_5033.png

Join the Steemit Book Club, you may find it's your OWN stairway to Heaven...

IMG_5034.png

Thanks so much for reading,

Have a great week everyone!

@scan0017 😘

Sort:  

welcome to Steemit and hope you love it. following you to see you round.

That book gets around, lol. Great to see your travels fella!

Hello @Scan0017 ;) Glad to see more people like you - here joining steemit!! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure!! Here you can win money while bloging! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. Wish you much luck! Cheers! Wish you much luck! Greetings, @khunfarang !

Haha I wish I was a tech genius, unfortunately I'm far away from that.

Thanks for the great post man, yeah I hope people will join us, and we do a great job in our next book :)

Wow that was a long post but an interesting one. Looks like I have to read that book now. I have read one book by Wallace, Consider the lobster and It has changed ky life! Following you for more interesting posts. Have a good evening :)

You meka a very good post master @scan0017
Please help me upvote @balcheng

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68051.59
ETH 2632.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67