Aussie Slang- Mossies, Possies, and Ol' Mates!

in #funny7 years ago (edited)

Welcome to another segment of Aussie Slang!

Settle in with a cuppa and enjoy!



8414250339_2c21dcc74f_b.jpg



Munted

This is a word said with much disgust and distain. Sometimes with a hint of anger or disappointment. Ruined, spoiled, tarnished, broken, and fucked are very good synonyms for this word.
"These chops are munted." = "I do believe this cut of lamb has expired."
It can also be used to discribe someone that is absolutely wasted (intoxicated).

"Holy shit, ol' mate is munted!" = "Holy shit, that older gentleman is boardering on alcohol poisoning!" (This iteration is said with glee)

Speaking of:

Ol' (old) mate

A rather friendly coloquial. As far as I can tell, locally, it is used to address an older gentleman that enjoys overindulging in the drink or having a good time. But is rather harmless and kind while doing so. Hospitable, even!
However, I have heard others use it as a simple greeting or reference to a friendly man in general.

Mozzie

A mosquito. Or the national fucking bird of Australia.
They are large enough to carry away a toddler into the pitch black of the night. Rememeber that mosquito from Jurassic Park?
Yes. Those prehistoric bastards are still alive and kicking.

AND THEY WON'T STOP BITING ME. Does anyone know if they sell Deet by the barrel?


Swag

When I was first told of a swag I assumed it was just a sleeping bag. I was wrong. A swag is literally a portable, bug-proof bed. It has to be bug proof because... well, 'straya. We own a couple and have used them to sleep on the beach, quite comfortably I might add!

I did get a bit of a start when I rolled over to the rising sun only to see a spider as big as my face on the fly screen, though.

Thongs

In Oz, these are not the strings that go betwixt your cheeks. No, they are sandals or flip-flops!

You can imagine my confusion when I saw a sign that said "minimum dress requirement: thongs".

... I'm not allowed back there anymore.




As always thank you for reading and we hope you like what we brought to the blockchain today! Please leave your feedback in the comments! We love to hear it!!
Much love, @stitchybitch & @sammosk <3

Gif credit to giphy, tenor, and tumblr!

Sort:  

funny but hard to understand for a foreigner!

this is how you should enjoy yourself

Amazing waooo.
Very nice post, beautifully presented and explained. detail oriented with nice pics. thank you for sharing this with us, Upvoted

If you mind checking out my blog for latest posts and updats @kingjan

Wonderful ,magical ,beautiful , useful words and post

Useful words for my life.

G'day Ol' Mate! Toss on your thongs, lets get munted like a mozzy at a fat kids birthday party before we snuggle into our swag and roll down some hills into a flock of kangaroos!

Ya I'm from Montana, I had to look up how to say hi in Australia. Keep these coming though, this was pretty funny

#funny
all images can keep us entertained, like donald trump images in various edits

LOL, yeah thongs got me too while on holidays too. Isn't jumper one too... it's something like a small girls school dress?

Either way nice post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49