Where Cougars Go To Buy Gardening Supplies

in #funny6 years ago

E5FC3B02-743B-499F-B252-8CF29689F899.jpeg

Eye Candy For Your Garden Is About Right.

3B5425A4-363B-47E3-A2BE-48F523451709.jpeg

Yeah, I am not joking. This farm really exists and it’s dedicated to all your standard plant materials...you know, like annuals, perennials, herbs, vegetables, trees, shrubs and flowering vines. The selection is second to none.

They specialize in the different and obscure.

A perfect complement to my personality, I might add.

A visit to this farm can take a couple of hours if you’re really on the hunt for something unique. It’s located not far from the small hamlet of Foxboro, Ontario Canada.

Yesterday I was compelled to make 2 trips to the farm because I had to have...yes, had to have these:

61B9D13E-A33A-4C8C-A501-6BA5803E632B.jpeg

These little gems are cement and they are heavy as all hell.

I had to make two trips because the big one (which you can only see the cap of in the photo (above) is pushing 200 pounds with its stem and cap.

I drive a 2 seater Smart Car convertible with a tiny hatch back.

Yeah, it was a sight to see alright.

Let me paint the picture for you...

Imagine (if you will) a middle aged woman driving topless with the biggest cement mushroom you’ve ever seen, stuffed into a tiny car and that was me.

BB49DE0C-50D0-4914-B2C3-F263964DAF11.jpeg

I happen to think stuffing clowns into a car is over-rated.

If you want a real challenge try gigantic cement mushrooms.

Then, try driving to avoid as many bumps as you can, on country roads while leaving yourself extra time to slow down and stop (when necessary).

The goal: try not to be squished by a 3.5 foot wide cement mushroom cap and try not to fracture said cap by hitting a pothole too hard.

It’s all fun and games until your load shifts and you’re pinned by a massive mushroom cap. I knew the risks and I did it anyway because I was inspired, but mainly because I didn’t want to wait. Lol!

Here’s what they look like currently in a garden that I am working on establishing in my front yard:

A2BC1C97-637C-4BA8-BB86-66EF1D1C8F04.jpeg

Pretty cool!

(I did have to commandeer some help from a friend to lift the large mushroom out of my car. Its weight is too heavy for me to lift on my own.)

I think that once the perennials in this garden become more established this bit of eye candy will really pop and add a little whimsy to this garden.

C7BD672C-3A6B-4E0A-A493-D3CC9F2BD331.jpeg

What do you think?

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey... I am really getting into mushrooms. ;)

8BB17CB6-6B44-4F9B-8C2E-2BA7C6DA9445.jpeg

~ Rebecca

Sort:  

Eye candy for sure ! And holy shit 200 pounds ? That’s a big load . The eye candy 🍭 saying is catchy as well :D

Choked on muh toast when you said you were driving topless LOL. I love the look and feel of your garden...what a beautifully serene place to garden!!

Oh nothing beats a good toast choking first thing on a Saturday morning.
Just checking to see if people actually read...
Thank you very much. I’m working on making it a beautiful place to spend time. This is year 2 for this particular garden...it’s just a wee babe yet. I lost a beautiful butterfly bush and a dwarf cherry tree because our Winter was so harsh up here. I’m trying not to be bitter...yeah, it’s not working very well.

B887308B-2EF8-4468-B15F-16E1CB64643B.jpeg

It was so cold the roots froze and the trunk ruptured.

Not any sign of life. Sigh.

Awe..that's a sad fact of gardening. Will you now replant those same varieties in that location? I like the idea of individual gardens like that. I have a few acres and find that I can't tend it like I want to, so I will break it up into smaller individual gardens like this one. I just love the feel of the mushrooms here lol. I expect to see pixies or faeries popping out from under those caps.

I'm too nervous to. I may try them in different spots. I am trying to go for low maintenance gardening now, more so that I don't have to be tied down.
I'm almost at the point where I can get away with a few annual assortments in pots because everything else is perennial. Thanks for telling me that you like the mushrooms...they certainly won't be everybody's cup of tea, but I really thought that they were timeless.
I'd like to find a cement toad in the same tones as the mushrooms for the other end of that garden. It's actually a big oval.

I couldn't imagine you topless that accurately.. how about you help with some visual aid so that there could be the perfect imagination

Oh, be careful what you wish for @skreza...
It’s highly probable that I am older than your Mother...
I do appreciate that you picked up on that little detail. Sometimes, I like to see if people are actually paying attention to what I write.
So, because you asked me nicely, here you go Sweetheart:
07D5A97C-BAC2-40F8-BCA2-C3456CDB76ED.jpeg435F6293-C09A-4158-A458-25B3F64797F1.jpeg
Roof was down and we call this going topless in Canada. ;D
You were right to ask, it’s finally been hot enough here to shred some clothing. Last week I was still wearing a Winter coat and multiple layers. This week you could go topless in parts of the country with the exception of Newfoundland. It snowed there and the icebergs are floating closer to shore.
Love you @skreza!

woman driving topless

I have to admit to having the brain still of a 12 year old but that wording though LOL!!! Ok I am being naughty, I better go sit in the corner for time out ! ;)

Haha! Time out doesn’t work for me... I’m still juvenile too. Lol! It makes life more interesting.

Maybe you were driving topless! OMG! And there was the mention of cougars as well.....think you are a trip tootling down the roads with your overgrown mushrooms. They look great in your garden. Those kinds of farm stores are so hard to find, I too would spend hours looking around. 🐓🐓

Thanks so much for having a look @mother2chicks! I always find interesting plants and garden decor at this farm.

Their Spanish lavender was interesting this year.

The mushrooms are gorgeous @rebeccaryan :)

Wow that's a great funny

You are very fantastic. I enjoyed the game. The car is very beautiful and small.

They look good. Looks like a relaxing garden 😎

Sounds like an interesting store four sure and what a picture haha 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82