The Perfect Sign

in #funny7 years ago (edited)

                        

In my travels yesterday...after visiting another country and several major cities (all within 14 hours), I found this sign displayed in a shop window. The display was in a store located on the main street of Brockville, Ontario.

Brockville is on the shores of the St. Lawrence River and is part of the 1000 Islands. This area has a rich history of being a play-ground for well-heeled Canadians and Americans in the summer.

                        

Boats of every size and description. This water is fresh water, but the St. Lawrence is the gateway to the Atlantic ocean.

                        

We are also close to Quebec (which is the next province located to the east of Ontario). This area was originally settled by the French. As a result, Canada has 2 officially recognized languages being French and English. We are taught to speak both languages but most of us choose to speak one or the other.

(@francisk, @creativewoman and @progressivechef I was thinking of all of you when I took these photos.)

It was a very hot, humid day. It was 30 degrees C or 86 F, but with our humidity it felt like 104 F.

                        

This Wicked Witch from the north is melting. Normally, I try not to be outside when it gets this hot and humid because of what this does to my nervous system, but being original with a Strong Bow and a dry sense of humour helped. ;D.

(@bluelightbandit, this photo was for you, because this is about the only strong bow I pick up these days.)

I welcome your comments and invite you to follow me on my journey...occasionally we will stop to reflect on life, have a drink, and go shoe shopping.

~ Rebecca Ryan 


Sort:  

LOL! The only strong bow you picked up lol! It's okay, I'll take it! I desperately need to switch to a cider, I will give the Strong Bow a shot, although Woodchucks are pretty damn tasty! Don't ask me why but seeing the picture with the glass of cider makes me want some fried eggs for some reason. Don't judge me lol!

Hahahaha! I'm all about setting the right expectations to avoid anyone being underwhelmed by any experience, that I might have a hand in. You won't be disappointed by Strong Bow. It's 5.3% alcohol and comes from England. Hopefully, you'll have some decent cider choices in your area...for this, you want to select a dry one with the least amount of sugar that you can find. ;)

Are these in the two days that you have been absent?
I think so
As I said then maybe travel is fun
Indeed, as I see in all these pictures beauty in everything
you are beautiful
The places are beautiful
The trip is really enjoyable
I wish I could go with you next time

Yes. If you and your wife ever make the trip to my part of Canada, I will make sure that you get to see the rugged beauty of the land. We have lots of space, lots of green vegetation, trees, rocks and water and we have snow at least 4 months out of a year. My sense is that it is exactly the opposite of your beloved Egypt or Saudi Arabia. In my blog I will try to show you as much as I can, my friend. ;)

I am planning a trip like this
Enjoy this beauty

Cinderella is right . This is for me.

thats a real funny text about cinderella :) great trick

very nice trip @rebeccaryan, yes that sign board means a lot when ever someone see that board a quick subliminal messages comes in mind about the importance of shoes and peoples are start thinking that it's those shoes that change Cinderella life so why not we buy a new pair, so this is a technique of advertisement, really like your journey all the shots are beautiful especially the st. lawrence River scene with white boats looks so cool and beautiful, thanks for sharing

Thanks so much for your comment @adnanrabbani! Attitude is everything in life.

Hello my friend! Wow 14 hours travel! Thanks so much for the mention and thinking about me and my wife my friend! That's so nice of you!
Btw is it no supposed to be the start of cold/chill season there!? I'm wondering what is the percentage of humidity there, just for info in Mauritius right now it is +80% and in summer much more! Temperature is actually at 24degrees celcius!

Yes. It should be getting colder everyday but it's f&^*king hot with high humidity. I'm sitting on our dock in a long silk shirt trying to convince myself to enjoy this because in 2 months I'll be in a full body parka. Hahaha! 4 seasons isn't all what it's cracked up to be. LOL!

You are doing the right thing to convince yourself to enjoy these moments my friend...I can imagine how cold it will be very soon!
I will enjoy a lot seeing those winter post from this side of the world btw!Lol! I will feel your pain but I will still enjoy! Hahahah!

Congratulations @rebeccaryan
MinnowsPower listed your post "The Perfect Sign" as one of the top 10 upvoted and commented posts of the day...!!!
Exceptional article about your latest visit of "Brockville, Ontario". Fantastic photography also there. (Last photography is really cool ;D)
(You supported MinnowsPower and MinnowsPower will not forget that help)
100% Upvoted by @MinnowsPower

MinnowsPower is not a bot, I am a Crowdfunding Hybrid
One small UpVote of Yours build MinnowsPower and MinnowsPower will Not Forget Your Support...!!!

@rebeccaryan - Oh my goodness, ma'm it's a beautiful travel & that shoe promotion type is really attractive ma'm. Lovely photography you shared ma'm <3 :*

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

I appreciate a well crafted piece of advertising too. The shop owner did a fantastic job.

That sign shows how advertising should be done

I thought that it was very well done. The best part is that the store wasn't a shoe store.
It sold home decor.

In that case it is even better

Well that looked like a good time and part of a nice trip! I'm French Canadian! Yup! Oh and that sign was pretty darn funny.

Thanks @teemsteem! Very cool! What province do you live in?

I'm in the Province of Quebec!

That's awesome! You are my closest witness! Go Canada!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86