A new job vs a new relationship

in #funny6 years ago

image.jpg
(I’m a freak with one eye brow)

A new job vs a new relationship

I’m doing something I don’t think is right. After being at a job 13 years, after I left I can’t seem to stay at a company long term. Is this a bad thing? I figure I’m selling the hours of my life. Shouldn’t I sell to the highest bidder within reason? If you were selling something out of your house and one person offered you more money than someone else that would you sell it to.

Anyways I got to thinking. Starting a new job is a lot like a new relationship. Please come with me as we explore the similarities of the two.

They both have a honey moon phase:

So you just met this great man or woman. So you just landed this hot job. You can’t believe they choose you. Why would they choose me I have so many flaws. I plan on staying with this person/place a long time, if not forever. Today God smiled down upon me and blessed me with this person/position. I’m so happy. It all happened like a whirlwind!

Then the honey moon is over, but its okay I still like her/the job:

It’s not like it used to be in the beginning, what you expect the honey moon can’t last forever. The pleases have stopped and the manors are not as proper as they were at first. For some reason my girlfriend/boss is quite as happy and polite as they were in the honey moon phase. Is it me? Can I change this?

Now is the time you smell that first stinky poop:

This is the time when you see the real side of who you’re dating/working for. Your co-workers look miserable or your girlfriend farts in front of you, and yes it stinks. Life is back normal. Oh how I would love to go back to the honey moon phase. Even post honey moon, please I’ll take post honey moon. At this point you are going to see things with your girlfriend/job that you simply cannot unsee. This is the point of no return. Your simply in too deep.

At this point only the strong survive:

This is the common place where you are just getting taken advantage of. You’re spending all your time doing things you don’t want to for your girlfriend/working weekends and 70 hour weeks. Many crumble at this point. The sex/easy work have all but dried up. You are under sexed/over worked. What happened? Can I take a life changing vacation/change departments? Is going back to the honey moon phase an option?

A plan for the Great Escape:

At this point one is certain the honey moon phase is not coming back. There’s only one thing that makes sense. That is to move to the remote mountains and become a prepper. I will have no social media, no cell phone and no job/girlfriend. I will live off the land and have solar panels. Life will be great. It was society not me.

The End.

So now you see my friends how both end at the same place. I predict in oh say 10-20 years the mountains will be filled with fine men. When you ask what has driven them there they will answer a girl/job.

@propane

Sort:  

I like the great escape. Maybe break up with the job and travel?

So true. There are many paths that lead to the great escape. I hope all is going well with your great escape move right now.

The great great escape will not be soon enough...And the mini great escape is postponed lol.

Waiting to hear back from a desirable job posting is similar to waiting to hear back from a lady you fancy...it's excruciating, nauseating, and often ends in heartbreak.

But that's the game we must play, unless we want to live like mountain men as you say. Thanks for the post, I might have to continue your comparison in a post of my own...

I’ll look forward to it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89