@polebird Q&A: 🙃 Do polers get dizzy? 🙃

in #funny7 years ago (edited)

Question of the day:

Do poler's get dizzy spinning around all the time?

0040C634-4666-40C8-96AC-872C032682BD.JPG
The answer....

WHY YES WE DO!

giphy-downsized-large-4.gif

When I first started pole, just practicing one basic spin on static around the pole over and over would make me a bit dizzy. Boy, was I in for a treat when I first jumped on spinner pole. For those of you unfamiliar with my blog, a lot of poles can usually convert between spinner and static mode. First few tries, I jumped on spinner with a zest and enthusiasm and ended up stumbling around for a few steps after I got off the pole. After that, I definitely spun with more caution and a bit less momentum.

Snapseed 22.jpg

I’ve also heard a few other tricks for beginners to help with dizziness from my instructors – such as jumping a few times up and down after finishing with the spin pole or trying to spot. I do think the more you pole, that you build up some tolerance to the dizziness and get more used to going around and around in circles. You don’t really see pole dancers in routines having to jump up and down between combos to adjust their head, haha.

giphy-4.gif

I myself have built up tolerance to the dizziness of the spin. It really doesn’t make me dizzy too often now unless I spin wayyyy too fast. For me, I had to get used to the spin in different positions. I did notice when I first tried brass monkey where you end up in an upside down position looking towards the floor on spinner, the dizziness did get me although I had already been used to spinning in an upright position or inverted position while facing the ceiling!

pole6.gif

^Yup, that move made me dizzy when I first started trying it on spinner! SPIN ME DIZZY!

Thanks for reading my friends. I love sharing about pole with you all! I really appreciate all the follows, upvotes, and resteems!

IMG_5178.PNG

Love,
Jess

P.S. Inviting all aerialists or aerial art lovers to browse or use the tag #aerialists! Let’s build a Steemit aerial arts community <3

Sort:  

I used to figure skate and people would always want to know how we spin without getting dizzy. I think I got some serious practice on a playground merry-go-round where one would sit in the middle while the rest "sprinted" and then shoved it to top speed.

I believe we have already discussed my flying off poles before on the static, so needless to say in pole, I never changed to spinning. It sounds like I may have a taker to head back with me though, so perhaps 2018 will mark the pole comeback.

From an audiological standpoint, the fluid inside circular canals in our inner ears moves with different types of rotation on three different planes. Just like if you stir a cup quickly and stop, the fluid will keep moving momentarily. The sensation of dizziness comes in when our eyes tell us that we aren't spinning but our body is still getting the input from little hairs that the fluid is moving, so your body keeps trying to balance you, even when on steady footing. I could see jumping or a quick turn in the opposite direction maybe even helping, if you can manage safely, as in theory this could stop the swirling faster.

Hahahah I didn’t know that was a thing! Training on the merry go round 😀 yay! I’m so excited for you and your friend. May 2018 be year of the pole. Totally make sense the physiological reason behind why jumping works to stop the dizziness, great explanation and thank you!

Love these types of topics. Watching ice skating in the Olympics yesterday I was wondering the same thing. How in the world can they spin so many times and so fast without losing their lunch. I spun around five times quickly and had to sit down for a minute lol.

Hahah yes! I’ve been watching the olympics too, they are incredible athletes and it’s sooooo gorgeous when they spin!

During my 2 year experience with poledancing I've never ever got used to too much spinning and tried to avoid spinning pole at all costs. :( Eh, maybe if I continued I would have eventually overcome that. :)

Hehehe I hope you make it back to the pole. After I got used to spinner I loved it so much! I’ve only more recently made it a goal to do more dynamic tricks on static. So liking both prett equally how - great for different things

I think I would lose my lunch trying some of the moves you do. Love your motto haha. Happy valentines day from Asia

Haha I definitely don’t eat before I pole! Tried that once and had to stop :P happy Valentine’s Day! Hope you are enjoying your epic trip!

like swimming, never pole on a full stomach. The trip has been awesome, just got back to Korea and headed to see the Olympics tomorrow, exciting times!

That’s awesome!!!! ;) which event you watching? We’ve been watching in tv! Loved the half pipe runs :)

I've got tickets to 5 different events so far. skiing, snowboarding, curling hockey and bobsleigh, cant wait!!

Oh man!! So cool! Have fun and stay warm :)

she spins,she dances,she creates and she shares all,....shes @polebird ...thanks for this too

Haha thank you my friend! If only I could spin AND steem at the same time 😝it would be more efficient

Pool is not for people who gets easely sea sick.. Someone told me... I guess you get use to it in a while... Anyway you are pro at it... So for you it's like nothing... How is your progression on your goals for this year going? I wish you a wonderful valentines day 🙏 🌟 and all the best for the future 👍by the way your last spin and moves... Killing it! .. Bam impressing!

Haha yeah I did get used to it! I have made a lot of progress on my iron x and I’m slowly working on the other tricks! Thank you :) and happy Valentine’s Day!

You are amazing.
I will be dizzy. hahaha

Thanks sky! 😭sometimes I still get dizzy if I over do it on the spin hehe

I love it, so nice

Nice post , Like it <3 @polebird

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60172.85
ETH 2384.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57