FREE!!!! Onions?!?!

in #funny7 years ago

FREE!!!! Onions?!?!

smallP1070679.JPG

I love the word FREE!!

If you are like me, my ears perk up when I hear the word free! LOL.

So today's tip is how to ALWAYS have free green onions!

free1.JPG

YEP! Free green onions for all LOL!

Hey, I love me some green onions!




Unfortunately you need some onions to start. But chances are you have been buying them anyway. So the next time you go to use them, use the green and even a bit of the white. But be sure to leave a good amount of white.






Place them in a shallow cup with a TINY bit of water for the roots. Literally, just a few drops of water. I cant stress this enough! The biggest mistake new onion growers make is having too much water. If there is standing water, you will get skanky mildew rotten onion water, and NOTHING smells worse!! You can see the new shoots starting on these.


smP1070678.JPG
Place the cup in a sunny window sill and before long you will have free onions! Obviously the cycle doesn't go on for ever. Every so often I buy fresh onions. But before long you will have onions in all stages of development. The plants look nice and brighten up a lonely window sill. The best part is never running out of fresh green onions whenever you want them!

I did a bit of a funny video on it here! Enjoy!

All words and images are mine and can be also found on my various social media sites.
Twitter https://twitter.com/VirtualPaul1
Niume https://niume.com/profile/101496#!/posts
YouTube https://www.youtube.com/c/OldGuyPhotography
YouTube (Main channel) www.youtube.com/paulw
Twenty20 https://www.twenty20.com/PaulW/photos

Sort:  

ive done this! lol but my onions didn't grow for very long.. can't do it indefinitely. then I tried to plant them in some dirt and get them to go that way but i failed lol - love green onions!

u can grow so many from the scraps! celery, pineapple, onions, potatoes, love it!

Yeah like when they get to the length in the picture with the window, that's when I start to use them. I think a lot depends on the amount of light as well.

Waiting for the free socks post next!

I'm working on that one LOL

Pretty good little tip to get "free food"!

Thanks OD. I think for many folks, more than the money savings, the value will be in having fresh green onions on demand. I know I used to hate craving them and having none in the fridge lol.

Always up for free food. Like the wee garden in the windowsill. Thanks for the post and ideas.

Much obliged for your input and for the visit. BTW I followed you:)

That lake outside of your window kind of steals the show. I have some elderberry sprigs that are doing that right now.

For sure! Got to love the lake!

Free food, My favorite dish.
Thanks, good practical tip.

Thank you for checking it out!

Nice! I go through a ton of onions. I'll have to give this a go.

You cant go wrong, just remember less is more with the water. You will get the hang of it in no time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58006.10
ETH 3098.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43