I may have a lot of faults but being wrong isn't one of them!

in #funny8 years ago

some image

"I may have a lot of faults but being wrong isn't one of them!" by Bill Yates, a long time ago, in the Saturday Evening Post

My mother picked this out of the Saturday Evening Post many, many years ago and had it framed. She gave it to my dad, I suppose, so that he would be reminded about how she thought he might come across sometimes.

Later

I adopted this phrase myself as "I may have many faults but being wrong isn't one of them!"

I am pretty sure that my kids thought that when I invoked that phrase that I meant it literally. However, I have always only meant it as a metaphor for being sure about a specific fact.

Today

Today (especially), facts seem to be missing from discussions which ought to be hinging on them. So, I am going to be referencing this post/metaphor whenever actual facts would seem to matter -- but are instead simply being ignored.

Oh, and by the way internet, this is tongue in cheek humor, OK? I'll be invoking it only when all logic has apparently failed to work.

About

If you would like to see more posts like this from me, please be sure to comment and upvote me so I will have an incentive to continue to do so. If you are not already a part of the Steemit community, why don't you consider joining me and the rest of us here. Thanks! Also @noyb stands for "None Of Your Business".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56478.46
ETH 2384.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34