A Funny Moment In My Life With My Brother Roger!

in #funny7 years ago (edited)

My brother Roger was always good for a laugh. He could make me laugh and he loved to laugh. However, I do have a fond memory of him when he could not laugh at himself. Actually the incident is quite hysterical for me. At the time he wasn't laughing, but that's ok. I laughed enough for both of us. I still do, whenever I think of what I'm about to share with you.

In early '2000, Roger had gone shopping an electric alarm clock for his bedroom. He found one that he liked, made the purchase, and took it home. That evening he set down on his bed with his new electric clock. He preceded to set the alarm, but he couldn't get the time to change. It appears that the time was stuck on the face of the clock! The hands on the clock weren't moving, constantly stating the same time. No matter what he did! Time was literally standing still.

He grew very frustrated. After all, he had mechanical skills, so why couldn't he get this clock to work?!!! He went to bed angry. He knew he had to go back to the store the next day, have to make another trip. He would have to return this stupid clock and would have the store replace this clock for one that worked.

The next day Roger took his new clock back to the store. He explained in detail to the clerk what was wrong with the clock. He pointed out the problem on the face of the clock, how the hands stayed in one spot all the time. The clerk patiently stood there looking, watching, listening. She didn't say a word. She didn't crack a smile. Instead she took the clock from Roger and began to peel away the clear plastic visual (off the face of the clock). The clear plastic visual that displayed the time. The same time, all the time.

Roger felt like an idiot. He told me so. He was so mad at himself. He said, (and I can still hear him) "Can you imagine anyone being that stupid?"

I laughed until I cried.

Sort:  

I remember hearing about this one. I should do a post about the propane grill story.

Yes, you need to remind me about the propane story. What happened?

He thought the propane was the same as charcoal and you just needed to heat up the rocks in the bottom. Kept turning it off and back on to cook the food, dinner took hours.

Now I remember. So Hilarious! What an adventure with Uncle Roger!

Still laughing. One of those 'You just had to be there' moments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95