You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let Me Help You Get a Good Night's Sleep.

in #funny7 years ago

Ahhh... deep breathing... is that what it's called now? LOL
Sometimes I wish I could sleep more but my body actually hurts if I have more than 6 hours of slumber. And then there is the energy of knowing I've got work to do - fun work - amazing work - work that actually wakes me up because I love it so much! Wait... we were talking about sleep though, weren't we?

Sudoku. That is my sleep elixir. Open Sudoku book. Stare at numbers. Brain goes into automatic shut down to save itself. Sleep happens. :D

Sort:  

Thank you for the comment and upvote @merej99! :c)

Breathing is kind of essential to survival. When I first heard this it was a breath of fresh air... ;c)

Of course, contracting a nasty summer cold does complicate both breathing and sleeping. It took a little bit of 'tending to my cold' before I found sufficient opportunity to sneak between the coughing/ sneezing to land myself a respectable degree of sleep. ^_^

While I haven't really had to deal with the repercussions of extended sleep I can see how sleeping in the same position can cause stiffness and pain.

Of course, thinking about "work to do - fun work - amazing work - work that actually wakes me up because I love it so much" ... runs directly opposite to both the 'Free your mind' and 'Think... simple.' strategies - and may hinder your ability to sleep. ;c)

And yes! Boring your brain to slumber 'does' work too. Its one reason why I cannot study from books. Its like my brain rolls its intellectual eyes, turns up its nose sensors and ruminatingly wishes me to 'have a good time with that'. Its quite effective. Thanks for the reminder! :cP

I may have mentioned that I'm a workaholic. I'm addicted to getting stuff done. I'm also addicted to learning. Maybe it's to compensate for the parts of my brain that don't function as well as I'd like it to. LOL
Even when I go hiking, my mind sorts through all sorts of problems, thinks about solutions and roadmaps. It calms me knowing there is a plan.

It does sound like you might be a little bit of a perfectionist. :c) This is really valuable within a working environment - and getting the most out of your waking moments - but it can get in your way when it comes to getting some good shut-eye.

You can also try the above techniques when you're sitting in a comfy position. But thats a little closer to meditation exercise. :c) So long as your lifestyle is not bothering you - then there is no problem. Just give yourself time to relax. ^_^

I was able to relax today. A big thunderstorm forced me to shut down and I snuggled with my puppy dog. It was a great nap. :)

I am glad to hear it :c)

Yes a puppy dog or a cat so inclined for snuggles are a great way to inspire a mixture of a couple things mentioned above. :c) That you managed to do this during a thunderstorm is impressive. ^_^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61744.65
ETH 2678.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59