Interesting words...

in #funny6 years ago
Somewhere inside this brain of mine there is this young child that has a fascination for weird words. Specially the ones that are wrong. Well, I should clarify, they are not wrong per say, they seem to be wrong, but somehow the people of refinement that came up with the rules didn't think so.



Poised?


Granted is not too commonly used, at least not in the day to day. I don't tell my girl I'm poised to secure a meal, but the expression would not be incorrect if one that I decided to be a bit ridiculous. That being said, I can't help but to think of poison every time I hear it, or read it.

Am I the only one? I sincerely doubt it, I just can't be. Some of the talking heads on the misinformation mediums love the word, it makes their lies sound important, significant, but besides them, us, the common folk hardly ever use it.

Behooves


Who came up with that? It sounds like a part of a hoofed animal, doesn't it? - "Hey Mike, come check the beehoves on my llama, they don't look right, we might need to call the vet" - Now would mike and anonymous person own a Llama with messed up behooves? I have no idea, but my point stands true.

I would have never said to myself - "Oh, I need a synonym for responsibility and duty" .... "Yes, Yes.. BEHOOVES.. bingo"

How about you?


Give me your favorite "wrong" word, the one that the scholars really messed up on, in your view of course. Best Answer, funniest answer, 1 STEEM. Why?

Because I'm poised to get another payout today and it behooves me to share the love...

Sort:  

I can't tell you what word is the weirdest, but I just gotta tell you the name of a patient my mother, a nurse, once attended.

His name was Mr. Dikshit. She had to call him in to see the doctor, from a waiting room, once, and she was literally lost for words. In the end, she just called him "Sir," and waved at him with her hand, so he'd know who she was talking to.

That poor dude must have so many weird moments in his life. :)

Buffoon would have to be my favorite. I want to know where the hell that word even comes from... To my girlfriend's great amusement I once described someone as a 'bombastic buffoon', which has since become one of my favorite insults.

I always find funny the confusion (maybe because in Spanish we kind of get it right) for English Speakers

Inflammable is actually that IT BURNS not that it doesn't :)

Hmmm not funny but dangerous

well a bit funny!!
not funny you would think,
until you see your friend doing DIY crafts happily with an spray by a candle... claiming it was safe

and the holes in the carpet told another story!

oh yess... that makes no sense in spanish huh... hahahah

i love words, especially old fashioned or out of fashion ones. behoove is one of them.
i love the word ken. it's like intuitive knowing. there are a bunch of other name words that are fun to play with, like john, jack, peter...
i love words that even describe out of the norm. archaic, eccentric, aberrant, quixotic, antideluvian.
asunder another a word that i adore.
fandangle, fishwife. you havent lived until you watch Fawlty Towers episode "Communication Problems"
rapscallion ... that's me

i had to look up quixotic hahahah you are winning so far!!!

Quixotic is still used. In Spanish is "quijotesco" shame on me I know all the story but never managed to read El Quijote through

i loved that book as a kid... i had no idea it had been turned into an adjective, but it makes perfect sense... hahaha

One of my favorite words..... boondoggle. Sounds just like what it describes.

that is a good word, haven't heard it in a while!

cock-a-hoop. Just doesn't sound right and looks worse written. Meno is cock-a -hoop he has money today lol.

whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa hahahhahaahha

Donutburger... :))

doooooooooooood - that is the best word in ze vurld

Como sabes yo hablo español, y en Inglés todas mis palabras estarían mal, culpa de mi mal inglés... jajaj En español las palabras o frases mal escritas serían:
  • A la final
  • Para decir "Al final".
  • En base a eso
  • Para decir "Con base en eso".
    Como esas hay muchas como
  • Con se dio de cuenta
  • Para decir "No se dio cuenta".
    Una de las cosas que me causan risa son las palabras "en ingles" mal empleadas por los venezolanos, como por ejemplo: GUACHIMAN, para decir "watchman", en vez de llamarles VIGILANTE jajajaj
    Again...
    THANK YOU!

    guachiman hahahahahaha eso me hizo reir mucho!

    Sí aquí es un caso... Hay una Bebida que se llama ChivasRegal... y la gente le chama "chi barriga", otra se llama "cheminou" y la gente le dice "chimeneao" jajaja

    Intelligible

    Indubitably - It's fun to say and seems, sometimes the right word to use.

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.19
    TRX 0.15
    JST 0.029
    BTC 63931.73
    ETH 2663.43
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.84