The Benefits of Laughter and Texts from my Sons

in #funny6 years ago (edited)

Life can sometimes be so serious, so tedious, so heavy, but thanks to a little something we're all born with, life can also be joyous, humorous, fun!

Laughter!!

That picture above is actually my nephew, being ever so witty. He texted me that photo not long ago and it always makes me smile.

As most of you are aware, a lot of what I write here tends to be of a more serious nature, but thanks to the pushing and prodding of several people, I wrote a comedic post the other day and really enjoyed it. I have to admit that I've gone back and re-read it several times, and then read through the comments and find myself laughing out loud each time that I do. Check out @comedyopenmic if you haven't already!

There's actually all kinds of scientific facts surrounding the benefits of laughter, but most of us just know that you always seem to just feel better after laughing.


source

Both of my sons have a wicked sense of humor and I'm often surprised by a random text from them that leaves me laughing. Like this one I received yesterday.

Or this one not long ago. We have great memories of killing ourselves laughing at a book I bought once called Awkward Family Photos, and that's where this image is from.

Here's the actual book cover,

Do yourself a favor and check out some images from this book and many other editions and leave me a picture of your favorite in the comments! It's my 'go-to' when I need a little pick me up!!

Before you do that, I'll leave you with two other random photos that my sons texted me. The first is from the one who's a little more political...

And the second, from the one who's a little more inappropriate most of the time :)

Ahhh the joys of raising boys :)

Proud Member of :

SB-Marvel-Family.gif


Asapers.gif

Sort:  

Hey I smiled throughout the post and giggled a couple of times. Just strolling by to say hello 👋🏽

#steemitmamas

Thank you for that! There's a few of these I keep on my phone for a quick, regular giggle :)

Thanks for stopping by!

Laughter boosts immune system. I truly believe that one. And the rest of the benefits too I guess haha That means your post has improved my life today with laughter :)

Now that is some compliment @steven-patrick! Thank you :)

haha that picture here of that baby peeing on his dad I've seen before and that made me laugh so hard! Those things are so funny. It's good to have those fun family pictures and memories..

hahaha I loved that picture too! Imagine if the photographer has snapped just one more a nano-second later :)

The pokemon part I haven't heard yet lol! Sometimes I watch bloopers on youtube. FRIENDS bloopers make me laugh all the time. Or sometimes I browse 9gag :D

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

I laugh every time I look at that pokemon one haha The boys and I just randomly keep sending it to each other! :)

I'll have to check those out! Thanks :)

The pictures made me laugh..Laughing is the best medicine for so many things and those people who really talented with the ability to make others laugh from their heart with instant comedy are really blessed ones. We forget many things if we really involve with something that make us laugh....

And you know there are more than 100s of laughing clubs in many cities of India..You must heard about Mumbai and it is one of them..

Thanks for this post and stay blessed

And you know there are more than 100s of laughing clubs in many cities of India..You must heard about Mumbai and it is one of them..

I didn't know that! But it makes me happy to hear it :)

Did you know people in Japan have special ‘laughing sessions’. They come together and laugh. At first it’s a ‘fake/forced’ laugh, of course. But the body doesn’t know the difference and releases chemicals in your brain that make you happy. After a while, the laughing is real. Guess that’s a perfect example of ‘fake it till you make it’, lol.

That's an awesome idea!! I didn't know that :) It's far better treatment than what we seem to do in the States and Canada, which is give you a pill to be happy!

This is my favourtie one @lynncoyle1. I would so love to see a photograph from the next couple of seconds.

http_%2F%2Fi.huffpost.com%2Fgen%2F2810442%2Fimages%2Fn-AWKWARD-BABY-PHOTOS-628x314.jpg

For a number of the that are set up though I was just bemused as to why someone would want to take them in the first place! 😂

hahaha the photographer snapped that just in time!!! I know right? The poses and thought process behind so many are just weird!

I thought the one of the guy, supposedly naked, lying supine on the floor with his wife and little kids sitting in front of him, in a position to cover his "bits" was particularly bizarre! 😱 😂 😱

Oh there are way too many that I would consider bizarre haha Just imagine if it was done by a professional photographer and what must have been going through his or her mind haha

hey why do you have my picture of my adolescence as the last picture on your post? Are you stalking me? I would be totally cool with it hahaha

hahahaha I questioned whether or not to include that one in here, wondering if it was a tad offensive, so your response made me LOL big time haha

ahahahha use my photo without any fear!!

I was telling my boys about your response and they were both killing themselves laughing!!

Some good laughs there. Especially that awkward family photo one, the kid in the middle of the dogs looks a tad uncomfortable, lol. I've seen some funny awkward family ones before but that's a good one. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks @apolymask! We have literally had hours of laughter with that book, and then I found it online as well...it's my go-to when I need a good laugh!

Thanks for popping by!!

You're welcome. :) Thanks to you also for stopping by! :D

Laughter is what gets me through most days. 😊

I've seen many, many shots from the Awkward Family Photos website, and my reactions seem to range between -


via GIPHY

and


via GIPHY

Thanks for the giggles this morning, @lynncoyle1! 💜

hahaha so true!! I cringe for so many of them and feel really sorry for the photographer haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59