The face in the plank

in #funny7 years ago

Human beings have an exceptional talent for recognising faces. We don't just see faces on other human beings and animals, though. We are so evolved to recognise faces that we can see them where they aren't, as it were. Besides the proverbial Madonna or Jesus in toast, which I've never had the pleasure of experiencing myself, I can attest to having seen human faces in shag carpet, clouds and oatmeal. Sometimes those faces have varied slightly from totally human - some have looked more like Roswell captives, cats or insects. But what they had in common was they were definitely faces of a sort.

Which brings me to the face in the plank

A couple of years ago, we had new flooring installed throughout the house, including in my study. Blissfully unaware was I of what lurked beneath until one day I saw It, the Face.

Zuma face in plank

AUGH! The horror. The Zuma. In my floor planks, right underneath where I sit, and because it's not real wood, everywhere where the pattern repeats itself. Shudder. Once I'd seen it, I couldn't unsee it.

Why this is horrifying

It's not just the face you see, it's what it represents.

Still can't see it? Let me help you. Then you won't be able to unsee it either.

Zapiro Zuma reputation

Not yet? How about now?

Zapiro Zuma prison

Both images are courtesy of Zapiro, aka Jonathan Shapiro, South Africa's most celebrated cartoonist, and were previously published in Independent newspapers. (The Zapiro team seemed to take it in stride that I'd be using these images on a cryptocurrency social media site; at least their kind e-mail in which they sent the images didn't convey outright disbelief or even a blink at the idea of blogging for crypto.)

Wait, why a showerhead?

Fellow Steemians, Zapiro began drawing Jacob Zuma (our JZ, not to be confused with the Beyonce JZ) with a showerhead on his head to satirically capture the insanity of Zuma's response during his 2006 rape trial that he believed showering would prevent him from contracting HIV. It's come to symbolise so much more since then. This article from a local South African newspaper gives you some idea of how entrenched the showerhead became in our national psyche, while this gives some insight into the level of controversy Zapiro's relentless satire of this most flawed of presidents has generated over the years.

A digression - why satire is important

Satire is not about making fun of people as an end in itself. It's about criticising vice and corruption, and calling those in power to account through the use of humour and clever imagery to counter the spin and diversionary tactics of the public relations machine. And Zapiro has taken his share of hits doing this on our behalf in recent years. As a former student of Pope and Swift, two of the English language's most accomplished (some would say vicious) satirists, I say we should treat our satirists as national treasures.

But indeed, I digress. Back to the Face.

There's no showerhead in that photo...?

While I can't see a showerhead in the Zuma Face I can't unsee in my floor planks (mercy!), I suspect that Zapiro's brilliant lampooning of JZ has had a strong hand in my seeing his face at all. It must be the way he draws those, er, sloe eyes.

Hmmm...the plank head looks like it's on fire, with no showerhead to douse the flames. Perhaps a sign?

Steemit RSA logo


Cool South African Steemit logo courtesy of @alainite

And a sincere thank you to the Zapiro team for providing the cartoon images!

Sort:  

Nice post. Very informative and entertaining to the reader. It's incredible that we see what we see. It is just a reflection of what are perception and beliefs are. Good work and good content. Will continue to follow. Enjoyed your post.

Thank you, @steppingout23. I really appreciate your kind words. And you're right about perception and beliefs. Preparing this post has got me researching why and how we recognise faces. I knew a little bit already, but a little knowledge is dangerous so I'll finish my research properly before posting.

Regarding this post: I have to admit I took extra care with it since Zapiro and his team will be looking at it, and I want to honour his work....

I see it as well, you will need to replace the floor!

Nah, let's just replace the one with the Face! :-)

Great plan less costs

looks disturbing

It is! Disturbia in a plank. I wonder sometimes if the manufacturer was having a moment of creative fiendishness and did it on purpose.

From my perspective it looks like a man whose head has been set ablaze.( a pretty grotesque image haha)
It is amazing to see how we see faces so well. I especially see this take blacr when I'm looking at the front or back of a car.
You can get many different exuberant faces

Hmmm...a car. Now I'll have to go looking for faces there 😊. If you read through to the end, you'll see I also see a man with his head ablaze! Cheers 😊

@kiligirl,
Replace that segment. Then forget it! Don't take it seriously ;) If you get things serious then you might be in troubles. Better forget it and that's it!

Cheers~

So here's the challenge - the pattern repeats itself! Could be worse. Could be a large spider or a rat. Moving. 😊

@kiligirl,
Thanks for the response! I will try this one :)
You mean I need to post another meme that could continue this meme pattern

Well, I meant that the patterns in the planks repeat themselves across the floor - but I like your idea, if you mean getting people to post pictures of faces they see in things. Could be fun!

I got it... same pattern in all over the floor, not just 1 tile or whatever :O
Then try something different as I said!!! Different patterns all over the floor, it might confuse people and can't understand which one to follow :D

Relax, do not take it seriously.

If I took it seriously, you can bet I wouldn't have written this. 😊

Good so like This post
Thank you @kiligirI need This Post
I follow you and I wait for your next post

I see faces everywhere too lately, but I'll have to think hard to use one as well as you have done with this here post. Well done lovey, as they say.

Thanks, @spaingaroo, much appreciated! A warm way to close off the evening in chilly Johannesburg.😊

Wow brother, excellent post charm me! Vote for my comment, you would be helping me a lot, thanks

Perhaps a new rug (a few of them;)) could help???

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39