WOW!!! I found a much better decentralised social media network guys!!! It's better than Steem!!!

in #funny6 years ago (edited)

Oh mai gawd.

wowwwww.png

I found it guys. The holy grail of blockchain-based social media networks! Their whitepaper says it all. I've read it about twenty-times now, guys. I can't sleep now! It's special, and in every way better than Steem. Guys, guys, hear me. This stupid Steem platform is just not my thing anymore. There's no hope here.

Everybody's so selfish now. All the inequality is making me sick to my stomach. Why are there so many assholes just not giving their votes away? Where's the "Proof-of-Brain"? We even have a top witness selling votes now. How amazing is that? But I will still continue to post here for you guys. I've run out of ideas anyway, so I'll just continue to speak my mind about Steem's many issues here all the time.

No problem, it's not about the money. It's about ethics and staying true to my heart!

A f**king amazing whitepaper.

pexels-photo-697243.jpeg

Yes, guys. The future is so bright! Did I tell you about the whitepaper for the upcoming super-awesome social media platform already? It's obvious their team of social experts have put a great deal of thought and real-life experience while writing the whitepaper. It's like they've done this so many times before!

I've really read through the whitepaper, guys. Trust me. Seems like it's almost guaranteed to be a 100% happy, optimistic, and super productive place! Everybody will automatically have a sense of deep respect for each other just by using it. I know I will if I get on dat boat earlier than everyone else, again!

Everything will be more fair and more equal. There will be no conflict. Everybody will be pleased all the time. And no one will complain. It's the place to find your meaning and purpose, guys. Wow, seriously - did you read the whitepaper?! It's really really next level! How can they make such a utopia on a decentralised network? With money being at the heart of it, no less.

Anyway, Steem is just a broken pile of sh*t that doesn't work. There's not even a good thing about it anymore. But this? This new blockchain-based social media network will be the holy grail. It will solve all the world's problems! Steem is nothing, seriously.

It's simple!

pexels-photo-588561.jpeg

Building a better social network with money is not rocket science, guys. We just need to know what people really want in life and then apply the knowledge in building a platform that works for those that want to make it work! By the way, it's not Synereo. That one got me excited for a while too, but obviously, those guys just weren't competent enough.

Ah I need to go and hang out in that new place now and meet all the new awesome people, unlike this fake place. Where's the website, you ask? Oh it's not out yet, but soon! Now we hang out on Telegram. So stay tuned. I'll tell you more about the platform soon as we anticipate its launch! The new social media network is going to be so great, so magical, and like 1,000,000 people will adopt it instantly and everything will work out fine! By that time, Steem will be left in the dust.


Sorry for the chest-thumping. Just channelling my inner warrior.

Sort:  

Hahaha, it's not white it's blue coloured!!! You need to take off these glasses :-D

lol Never!!!! 😎

I knew you’d say that 😎😍

LOL ded. superwhite indeed.

Oh no the @steembirds are leaving too???? That white paper must be dope! Hahhahah

... and it can be used for dope too

👏👏👏🤣😂

Hi Kevin,

Nice parody, you got me at:

Oh it's not out yet, but soon! Now we hang out on Telegram. So stay tuned. I'll tell you more about the platform soon as we anticipate its launch!

I just wrote a controversial reply to our long time mutual friend @trafalgar, it's not the most agreeable reply, but it is a start of a deeply rooted need that we have to address, helping whales help themselves get more from Steem by stopping them from blowing their toes off.

Can you take a read of my comment and tell me if I missed something, or if I'm wrong to care, @trafalgar could really help our comedy community turn the Steemit ship around (especially retention and on-boarding talent) with the power of comedy....just like what you are doing here only 100x stronger with a community exponentially multiplying the influence inside and outside of Steem.

Thanks for listening

Sincerely,
Dj123

I don't think he's doing anything wrong after understanding what's been going on. Took me a few months to see - it's the tragedy of the commons with linear rewards. So now I'm feeling like a sucker for holding out for many months (not that I'm working hard), while losing out to most that are doing the rational thing of vote bidding and relentless self-voting, much to my dislike. If we shift away from linear rewards, low powered users will have less of an influence (which is partly another problem again), but at least profit maximisation activities could move away from total selfvote and abuses could be easier to curb. Will write up a post about this. Thanks @dj123, as for comedyopenmic, I'm gonna throw in a few votes every now and then along with other initiatives. Steem is many things.

Loading...
Loading...

"So now I'm feeling like a sucker for holding out for many months (not that I'm working hard), while losing out to most that are doing the rational thing of vote bidding and relentless self-voting, much to my dislike."

I read your comment and have felt that really struck a cord with me as well. The frustration of seeing a lot of my support delegate their power away to the the voting bots and you certainly get that feeling sometimes that maybe I should just break bad and be a 90% self vote Rat Bastard or just run an upvote bot as well.

There certainly are a lot of positives going on here.

I seriously flip back and forth even within the same day of thinking HOLLY Shit this is the best thing of all time and all this development and activity is going on and it is changing people's lives around the world ........ to thinking that I have spent too much time here and really never made the return on my time and money that I anticipated.

Personally I think shifting away from linear rewards would be way worse than where we are now. 2016 Steemit felt like being a court jester trying to impress a god king. It was a very helpless feeling for sure.

Hi Brian,

Here hence lies the problem:

The frustration of seeing a lot of my support delegate their power away to the the voting bots and you certainly get that feeling sometimes that maybe I should just break bad and be a 90% self vote Rat Bastard or just run an upvote bot as well.

For all smaller stake holder near the boarder size of minnow-dolphins and below, the economic benefit of self-upvoting is really not that beneficial, we can do much better using our upvote to networking (eg. Comment upvoting), encourage others, and in the spirit of adding value, bigger fishes who recognise our efforts still overtake our own payout from any self-upvote efforts.

The problems arise with those 50,000Steem and above seeing that talent to gain a $15-$25 post is not worth the effort when they can just bot it out.

In short you and I will never benefit as much breaking bad, we're just too small, we can only give up, and if enough of us give up adding great value to Steem it will become very bad for the bigger fishes.

They balance lies in part in this statement by Kevin

but at least profit maximisation activities could move away from total selfvote and abuses could be easier to curb

without Orcas and Whales withholding some modest percentage % SP back to be reinvested....there will be NO LONG TERM INCENTIVE for Value Content Growth and New Talent Retention.

Go read the Reply section whole post to see this argument laid out for all:

700,000SP Whale Upvoting Self 98%

https://steemit.com/funny/@traf/singing-in-the-shower

The truth is that the Whales Are The Ones who also need the education & Awareness on how they are stunting their own Steem value appreciation.

Thanks @dj123, you are the #comedyopenmic hero,
I am a small fish participating in the #comedyopenmic contest and I am happy that the entry I have on #comedyopenmic is always a lot of upvote people compared to my other entries.
And if @kevinwong join the contest #comedyopenmic we are very grateful.
Forgive me, as a disrespectful little fish for commenting on your writing, but me and all contestants #comedyopenmic will be very happy if you are in the contest.

I'd personally be in favour of trying something in between linear and n^2. Or else maybe the default acceptable position for every account here is to somehow have a good chunk of SP like 90% somehow coming back to voters, and only 10% gets distributed to others. Now i'm still at about 2% vs 98%, hence the suckerish feeling lol.

you're a good man Kevin, but even a strong community builder like you must have some influence on him, 98% is not sustainable, and when people of influence and talent do it, it's almost worst, it telling other talent and also leaders like yourself, that if you are in profit, or if you succeed here, DO NOT re-invest to build the house that homes your great wealth, let it slowly collapse.

would it not be better if they just cash out now at 10x profit, let new blood, new whales will probably do more than just pull close to 100% resources out and slow down adoption, talent retention.... the last 4 months we have almost 350-400K new accounts and dropping posting and even a slight drop in active usage rate in the last 2 months, plateauing at best.....how is that even possible a certain % should naturally be talent..... that is unless people don't get incentivised to stay cause the rewards are being slowly and invisibly pulled away?

frog in the boiling pot

I think there needs to be a push on changing the reward curve that currently incentivices selfish-mining. Now that I'm doing ~1-2% self all along, I might have my SP 50% lower than a purely selfish miner with the same SP today, in maybe a year or two. So in effect, I'll be having less to support others in the future from doing what I do today. Plus the big thing is that it's an open platform and everyone's free to do whatever they want - there's no guarantee of rewards. It's not like getting hired for a job doing X, Y, and, Z.

Why would anyone now give more of their votes away to help grow the network when on the long-term, the reward curve isn't encouraging more investors to spread out the votes other than to themselves? Now that I've not been onto selfish-mining ever since most people are onto it since HF equality was introduced, imagine how much influence has been diluted on my side?

It's almost a crime not to have kept up with the rational move for the long-term game after hf equality has taken place. I was a bit naive thinking most would stay on course of distributing the stakes to grow the network. It's really not clear cut what the best move is @dj123.

Sorry to say, but it's also arguable that it's easy for most new users to complain while providing trivial contributions (to be fair, like 99.99% of us) on the network, which on the whole, any rewards would be a great bonus that shouldn't be taken at face value at current valuations. But all in all, the reward curve could change to make altruism equally profitable so more people will shift away from selfish-mining. Either that or a community where connections are made closer over time so effective altruism can take place.

Loading...

Thanks Kevin, it's important that guys like you help the minnows. Otherwise, the retention rate of steemit suffers.

Well what I don't understand in that context is that most (of the established) users disagree with the current design, but then nobody behaves as if they really wanted to change someting.

Excessive vote buying has never been addressed, and self-voting is totally accepted.

It's not even a hidden secret anymore. People open and use additional account(s) in order to maximize the personal outcome through self-voting as if it was the coolest thing.

I guess most people that are enthusiastic about new concepts simply look for something more honest than this. I'd include myself here.

Parody is a great way of pointing to problems, so thanks for that, Kevin.

Comedy is simply a funny way of being serious. - P. Ustinov

Hard to blame anyone. Linear just has made it rational to do whatever that most people are doing now. It's just a different ball game. I think it's understandable as well. Like if I feel like I wanna take care of whatever community I like, wouldn't I have less of an influence from where I started if I don't join in maximising myself now? I definitely feel the compulsion to go this route seeing that I've been going from 1% self-voting to about 2%ish now, which is nowhere near the norm of 10%-90% now. I don't think there's anything inherently wrong as people are still free to exercise their vote however they see fit. Steem as a currency is working fine. It's just that it's unfortunate that the profit maximisation move now is to somehow acquire most of one's votes back to the self.

I just published an article about the importance of accountability in business, you may enjoy the read.

From my personal point of view, Steem's core problem is the lacking accountability.

Most of the time the community's demands are not taken seriously, and priorities seem to be mainly assigned according to profit and not according to growth.

How long are we waiting for the community feature now? One year? It was in January 2017 when it was announced for the first time. No other target in the Roadmap 2017 was celebrated more by the community than this one.

I perfectly understand when people start looking for something else now.
Obviously a whitepaper is nothing we can seriously measure and only time will show how promising the competing apps will effectively be. But then tell me how much do we know about SMTs? :-)

ONO will launch in less than 24 hours btw.

People are enthusiastic about the things they believe in.

People are enthusiastic about the things they believe in.

exactly

we believe comedy will greatly help bring excitement and retain talent in Steem, but only with participation and that happens when we can get leaders, good people, and big fishes willing to help make it exciting

i like your respond above, tells me you have a lovely head on your shoulders

I'm a noob finding my way around this place ans feeling inspired by the potential and heartbroken by the reality. There is so much for me to learn but one of the most glaring problems seems to be so easily fixed - the issue of self-voting. I don't understand why this wouldn't have been fixed by now. Is there an easy explanation for that?

Only explanation I see madam is, that -

@ned (the CEO) is too busy fixing his hair instead of Steemit and STEEM

You rock dude. Your valuable support's much appreciated, Kev! :)

As we laugh at Kevin's parody, attending to this issue will show Steemit was never and will never be part of the band of jokes parading the cryptoverse in the name of heaven-on-earth social media platform

Loading...

This would have been a nice entry for week 9 of Comedyopenmic that brings out the banter, funny, witty, sarcastic and all round comic part of us irrespective of our location. I didn't even know people had sense of humour in Iraq until I joined this. Supporting the cause would be awesome

Deactivate the bots. Let's whales who want rewards lease their SP to minnow based communities needing them and everything will just be fine. Bidding bots are fucking thus platform up!

greeting eurogee,

if the minnow based community is purely a for profit based to support primarily Steemian minnows with good oversight and accoutability, then yes, that would still be a crippling lease delegation, but better than majority spam paid sponsorship bit-bot like we have now.

however, if the community is driven for minnows but to reach out and expand Steem's influence in the webosphere, then it's more than 1,000% (10x) justified to give delegation support to give Steem a chance to not just survive, but thrive, and increase its exponentially on-boarding and retention rate to compete with any future Social Network Blockchain technology and future plans of established technology like facebroke as they too spear ahead into blockchain tech

the minnow based community ...

Maybe one of the fundamentel problems is that we tend to categorize community members according to their stake - and not according to their contribution.

According to Steem's Sweat Equipit Principle theoretically all forms of capital are equally valuable.

This means that those who contribute their scarce time and attention toward producing and curating content for others are just as valuable as those who contribute their scarce cash.

But this is just theory and not vivid culture on Steem.

For a new member that hasn't the money to buy himself a bit of attention, it's almost impossible to grow organically. I guess that's why the user retention is so terribly bad. Since four months we have the very same amount of active users, and the number of postings is even decreasing.

I think that's alarming and reason enough to wake up.

Comedy is simply a funny way of being serious. - P. Ustinov

Loading...

Thanks for your insight.

...Since four months we have the very same amount of active users, and the number of postings is even decreasing.

This is very true. The only thing that can make this place thrive is for the big boys to lease out their SP to community leaders to support their communities. You will see one account delegated 2million SP while thousands are with none. I saying this out og experience, I have built @euronation community from scratch to 250 people. This is not people I got from steemit but pure virgin newbies gotten from holding online webinars,got them registered and still guiding up to untill today.

They have been earning less than 1$ and what do you expect: mass exodus. Something has to be done to address this otherwise it will become a community of just big men soon.

@eurogee

Acquisition is not the problem, retention is the problem (as you perfectly experienced with your own community).

If you don't have a good user retention, then actually nothing else matters.

Now you can stay and do circles around the very same issues until you get dizzy, or you can move on and spend your valuable time somewhere else.

I by myself am in a waiting position currently. Since November I've powered down almost all my Steem and invested it in other projects. Now I'm waiting for Steem's community feature to be implemented as well as for new applications to be launched on other blockchains.

Time is the currency, and we should invest it wisely :-)
All the best

I totally agree with you 100%! Many people from developing countries wouldn't mind earning 3$ per post.

@eurogee

I give you 100% for this

that's what the last whale told me but then he didn't upvote

Very unfortunately.

not really, he's a whale, it's more unfortunate for the little fishes.... you know what I'm talking about retention and all

😂 I go wherever you go. Good thing I am powering down then.

Not going anywhere :) there only project i think is better than Steem (or actually, will help augment Steem) is Tauchain / Agoras. But they definitely don't do marketing-speak with their project/whitepaper :)

He wasn't serious. It just a tacit way to pass information

Sounds pretty serious to me :)

No he wasn't serious !

I'm half serious!

There is nothing as half serious !

The brilliance contained within this post is off the charts... Loved every damn word. :)

Haha thanks @ezzy man, it's a bit exhausting xD

Didn't get much from this post beside the ads feeling

Greetings, Kevin

I agree with you man. These photos you posted have brought me some travel memories that I made.

Making friends outside the virtual world is very important, both for the happiness and support that a person can have, and for their profession.

A person without friends tends to go into depression.

I left some of the comments of the posts, because his first photo put me brought good memories.

Thank you and good evening!!!!

The basic idea behind steem wasn’t so bad they just did underestimate 1 small thingy. A thing that has been crucial in what steem has become. And we can blame on the human race!
The thing they did underestimate is, now you are curious aren’t you, simple the greed of the human kind!
Besides this, they also forgot how selfish we, humans, are!
The only thing that could save us, besides the restrictions on bot usage, is interaction!
If I look at the interaction on the real social medias and compare it with the interaction here! Well than steem can’t be called a social media platform!

It's true, that's one thing very lacking on steem now. A place to find connections. Now it's kinda free for all :) Waiting for the communities function for a while now!

@kevinwon, jokes aside you should check out #comedyopenmic. I think it's the least selfish, fun and inspiring community on Steemit.

I'm not using this as an opportunity to exploit #comedyopenmics awesomeness, I'm just saying it as it is. Being one of the judges I really feel previlaged to be a part of this community, where the ultimate goal is not selfish but steemiversal.

If we want Steem to go high we better realize that everyone has a responsible. Make sure it trickles down or we can never get real growth, and the your Steem will also always be stuck at a single digit.

The rewards curve needs to change for any behavioural changes.

Did wrote a post today about a change request in the steem and busy.org frontend! Worth a read!

We have been waiting for communities since eternity sir. Steemit team should be quick..

100% upvote for this!

The bots are the real problem of Steemit!

We can blame in in the bots, that’s easy. But who is using them. Yes! Correct! People are using them!
The creators of the bots can be blamed but they just discovered a great business model. And they were right, cause people started to use them. So more bots came along. Which combined does disrupt the idea of the blockchain!
So, I don’t think that we only have to point the finger at the bots but also on the ones who are using them! If the bots wouldn’t have any clients, they would ran out of businss.
So yes, I can understand your viewpoint but we need to see the complete picture!

Very right indeed

I must admit kevin, you got my full attention :)

Yeah dude! Awesome! Funky! Grüüüvy!! Yo rock! Yo bock!
I know we could be awesome homes! And tell all yo peeps, it's gonna be a-MA-zing, dude.
No seriously, what's all this shit about? We've all been there, irony and stuff, you know, bangin' that pink haired chick from vipa's. Seriously bro, what's the newest thing under the sun? Are we all gonna be saved (from ironic Jesus, yo?) Anyway, this kinda shit just brings out the hipster in me. And that fucker is much deeper than I thought, cause we're all too reasonable to be reasonable, are we not?
So talk tacheles, or else... no upvote at this point! There're too many cute kitties out there, ya know wha'm sayn, right?

Is this some kind of sarcastic joke? Not sure if I should laugh or start brown nosing the telegram groups.

Haha i'm not sure. More like i'm just making fun of marketing-speak whitepapers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45