Funny Poem: A Snowboard Serenade

in #funny7 years ago

I wrote this little ditty many, many years ago, when my life revolved around snowboarding and I lived in Whistler, BC.

This poem wants to be a song, but I never bothered writing music for it. Found it today, and it made me smile. Figured maybe it would make a few others smile, too.

What a treat to slide down a mountain and forget about everything else in the pursuit of fun in the snow. “Seventh Heaven” is a run on Blackcomb Mountain, and part of the inspiration for this play on words.

snowboarding
photo: Greg Eymundson, insight-photography.com
That’s me on Whistler Mountain, back in my snowboarding days.


Seventh Heaven


We made it up the mountain round eleven
The sun was so damn bright I couldn’t see
I lost her on the way thru Seventh Heaven
She dropped into the trees before me

I don’t think there’s a girl I’d ride with better
I’ve got to find a way to make her see
I thought that we could maybe ride together
But she dropped into the trees before me

I passed her on the way to the terrain park
I wanted her to see me slide the rails
But instead she hit the spines and the tables
Looked over just in time to watch me bail

I got up and we bombed it to the half pipe
Nothing better than a bit of air and speed
I wanted her to watch me float a method
But she dropped into the pipe before me

I knew that she would have to slow down sometime
I straight-lined and was fast as I could be
I caught up as she jumped over the slow sign
Still she made it to the lift line before me

Written by Katrina Ariel


Silly little poem. ;-)

Hope this made you smile and brought a bit of fun into your day. Thanks for reading!

Take care of yourself. You are a gift!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel

#teamcanada #steemusa #teamgirlpowa #steemsugars #thealliance


the alliance

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

steemusa

#steemusa and #thealliance banners by @bearone

Sort:  

Whistler is awesome makes me stoked, except for the night life to much coke, on the peak you find me having a toke. while the snow melts on my back getting me soaked. Shredding and slashing all day long and then back home all cosy with a feed and a bong.

HAAAAAAA!!!!! That's hilarious. Well played. ;)

I love Whistler, and I love skiing. Totally made me smile! Thanks!

Whistler is pretty amazing. So glad this made you smile. Thanks for reading and taking the time to respond. :)

Definitely made me smile.

I'm so glad. :)

such a fun poem and reminded me to check when the olympics start tomorrow :)

The Olympics are on? 😂😂😂 I am so out of touch. lol! Avoid the news as much as possible. Well, good luck to all the athletes, then. I suppose I should be watching hockey one of these days. I always root for Canada, even though I was born in the States. When it comes to hockey, that just seems right. Glad you enjoyed the poem. ;-)

nice
Skiing is a fun thing

It is so much fun, yes. :)

Yes it did make me smile, the old you was cool too lol, I think we all had some stories we wish we recorded to see how much we have changed. I think I will look up and old peice I did years ago, I was thinking about posting it anyway, so thanks girl. Be well and remember the shredding days... @katrina-ariel

Yay! So glad it made you smile. Post away. Sometimes revisiting the past can be fun. :) Steem on!

Love this picture! I just went snowboarding for the first time at Christmas and had So. Much. Fun. Can’t wait to go again now! Saw this over at #teamgirlpowa and wanted to see more. Glad I clicked!

It's an addicting sport, so much fun indeed! So much fun I moved to a ski resort for many years. lol! Thanks for coming to visit my blog, and taking the time to say hello. :)

That was a beautiful poem and I can almost se myself sliding down the hill of snow... Lol
A happy feeling and dear I can totally se this turn into a song 😉 🤗 big hug

Yay! And thank you! The poem did its magic then, if you could imagine yourself there. :) ((hugs))

I haven't been to Whistler 😅

And yes it did make me smile, Ty ❤️

Ahh !! Since I also am a poet, had to read this one !!! I personally like those poems the most that rhyme and it did.

Awesome work kat ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62339.62
ETH 2444.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62