The Funny Road Signs in New Zealand Always Make Me Laugh

in #funny7 years ago

If you are driving in New Zealand for the first time, you are guaranteed a laugh. Some of the funny road signs are hilarious. I have been driving around the country and taking photos of my favorites.

I have been living in New Zealand for nearly eight years now and I still occasionally turn a corner and burst into laughter at one of the funny road signs. Generally, I think of Kiwi English as being clear and concise, naming things exactly what they are - North Island, South Island. The funny road signs are often a different story. Possibly the intent was simplicity but it got lost somewhere in translation.

This Funny Sign is Clearly Written - Could It Actually Mean What It Says?

photo_1247832282live-firing-sm.jpg

This one left me speechless. So, where exactly are we supposed to drive and what if they are off by a bit when they are practicing with that live fire. This sign is on the motorway which runs down the center of New Zealand's North Island - the only direct route from Auckland, New Zealand's largest city, to Wellington, the nation's capital.

Here's Another Vague Road Sign

photo_1247876216keep-left-sign.gif

Clearly a Warning Sign, but What Should You Avoid?

photo_1247876518no-stop-sign.gif

What Does P20 Mean?

photo_1247879083p20-sign.gif

What Do You Think This Funny Road Sign Means?

photo_1247875989animals_on_the_road.png

What Will You Do When You See This Sign?

photo_1247878132open-road_speed_limit_100.gif

Why Did the Penguin Cross the Road?

photo_1247875106Penguin-Crossing.jpg

Honestly, I believed this when I wrote it, so image my surprise in Oct 2010 when we were driving along the west coast of the South Island. It is a magnificent part of the country. We were near Munro Beach, home to the endangerd Fiordland Crested Penguins Well, there it was, on the side of the road, and actual penguin sign. So, my apologies for publishing incorrect information.

Imagine My Surprise When I Saw This:

photo_1304129958funny_road_sign_penguin.jpg

I Saw This Funny Sign as I Was Sailing Under the Auckland Harbour Bridge

photo_1304126240funny_signs_bungy.jpg

Selling a Home - How Long Was Your Open House?

In New Zealand, they are generally 30 - 45 minutes

photo_1247874977open-house-sign-sm.jpg

Yes, you are reading this sign correctly, Open Homes in New Zealand last only 30 - 45 minutes. Visiting open homes requires planning and scheduling, especially if you are not sure of the exact area in which you want to live. Blink and you missed it. The good news is that they are generally very well marked, with arrows like this one at every turn leading from the main road. Of course there are not that many roads.

But no worries, the land agents are happy to take you through for a private viewing.

I Live on Whangaparaoa Peninsula

Looks Like I Should Be Heading South

photo_1247874323Danger-firing-Whangaparaoa.jpg

I Think I Can! I Think I Can!

Doesn't this Sign Remind you of the Little Engine that Could?

This New Zealand street sign reminds me of the child's story about The Little Engine that Could. Seems rather obvious that one would look at a railroad crossing, but I guess the sign errs on the side of caution.

photo_1304127852Screen_shot_2011-04-30_at.png

My Apologies to the People of This Beautiful Town, but I Laughed at the Name When I Saw This Funny Sign

(although not pronouced exactly as it looks when I am laughing.)

photo_1247832947kaka-point-sm.jpg

At This Beach, They Had to Post a Sign to Explain All the Other Signs

a classic funny sign

photo_1247902773west_coast_027.jpg

What The . . .

(The electic cable car was nearby, I think this was a warning)

photo_1304126295Funny_Sign_Power.jpg

No Collection of New Zealand Road Signs Would be Complete Without an Iconic Kiwi Bird

(sorry, I shot a bit off center, sign is the normal diamond shape

photo_1304126415funny_sign_kiwi.jpg

Sort:  

In Italy we have some of those signs, they are not weird...


This one means that you have to pass on the left side of the sign, an not on the right.


Parking and stopping in forbidden on both sides of the road.


Parking is permitted on both sides of the road, for up to 20 minutes.


You can find cattles on the road. Usually placed near farms.


End of speed limit.

New Zealand is strange :D

This was a really fun post to go though. Funny signs, especially the ones with penguin crossing one. may be one day i shall come to New-Zealand to check it out myself.
Great post :)

Okay, this really is funny.
I'm sure if you live in New Zealand you'd wonder what the fuss is about.
I upvoted you. Joe

These are terrific, but I'd have to say the penguin sign is my fave.

I really had a good laugh. Thank you.

Hahahahaha.... its realy funny sign. Good idea if this sign implemted in my city.. 😊😊😊

@kassie-vegas thanks for sharing with us , I help us to live the busy life style ! Have a nice day !

I love those signs. Thanks for sharing. I am following you please follow me and read my stuff. Also check out my images. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79