You've Got Mail

in #funny7 years ago

Today after many many years I have used up my last AOL CD, I am on my last 1099 hours of free internet. The clock is ticking, I am pondering if I should look into paid internet, or should I use my last two phone calls to AOL where I tell them to cancel my account permanently, and they insist to give me two free extensions of three months each!

Back in 1995 I got my first PC as a gift, my second PC was an offer from MSN to sign up for dial up and get a free E-machine, that lasted only three months, as they expected me to pay, sorry MSN, back to AOL. AOL was always there for me, year after year and CD after CD, they never wanted my money, they wanted me to be a member so bad, it's true they asked for a gap after one year of no pay, but netzero was there to fill up that gap.

Is time to check out that high speed cable internet everyone keeps talking about. what do you think?

Sort:  

Lol. I think I might have some of those disk in my basement. Just think. The blockchain is in the old AOL dial up stage. Once it gets mass adoption we will be rich!

Excellent :D

AOL... are you fucking kidding me? holy shit

oh my god, what a nice trip to memory lane .... that modem was badass !!! I always wanted one, it took a few years until I could get the Sportster 56k V.90, not the more expensive Courrier model like this one !

thanks for the nostalgia and laughs !!!

Steem on ! :D

please vote me, i am a new member in steemet. I need the spirit from you

Old memories, when you install simple software with bunch of floppy diskettes. and for draw a simple Line write a long code to execute. No internet no wifi. dial up modems and ftps.

How is this post worth 100+$? 343 votes, 166 views. Goes to show something is wrong with steemit's incentives.

That "you've got mail" sound shall never be forgotten. Good times.

@houman.abouei Settle Down Tom Hanks......................

You got it easy, young man. In my time, there was no Internet, and life was not so fast. ;-)

I remember that in the 1970s, on French Navy ships we received messages with a 75 baud telex. We did not need no 56K Modems!!!

Yeah, I'm older too, and I tell the young ones about when we didn't have cable television, microwave ovens, personal computers, and many other things, and they look at me like I'm an alien. lol

Damn, I remember thinking aol was so cool.
You could log on after about a few minutes, go to a chat room and have fun talking to people all around the world, or going to websites, waiting it to load.....and piece by lpiece the page would start to display, man we were flying high!!!
Except when you would get a call and get kicked off!!! 😂😂😂

Thanks for sharing this @joseph! I remember the days when I had to wait for someone to get off the phone before I can connect to the internet!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46