Top Ten Stolen Vehicles

in #funny7 years ago

Recently I received an email from my car insurance company with a list of the ten most stolen vehicles in the US.

This list is usually compiled and published all over the web, hundreds of articles asking the same question is your car on the hitlist?

The most stolen new vehicles:

  1. Toyota Camry

  2. Nissan Altima

  3. Toyota Corolla

  4. Dodge Charger

  5. Ford Fusion

  6. Hyundai Sonata

  7. GMC Sierra

  8. Hyundai Elantra

  9. Ford Pickup (full size)

  10. Ford Transit

Whether your car is on the hitlist or not, it does not make any difference. I am not sure why my insurance company would even send me such an email. My car is not on the list, they already know that, but assuming it was, what would they expect me to do about it?

Maybe they want me to be more cautious about car thefts so they do not end up paying for it if my car is stolen...

No that's not my car, I do not go to that extreme, but some people do. In fact that email made me want to see how far people go to prevent their car from being stolen:

Sort:  

lmfao the different theft protection methods people have used are amazing. The padlocks on that card reminds me of Mr Bean.

I don't know if you had watched the show before but the main protagonist would always lock his car with a padlock. I think this was because he had no other way to lock his car but I'm not too sure haha

I never knew transit vans were in the top 10 but they thieves may a van to use while they are car jacking. I can just see a group of robbers in the back of a stolen transit van, ready to steal another vehicle.

These prevention mechanisms are absolutely hilarious. Thanks for making my day that little bit better @joseph

Mr bean! xD

I lot of fear!! Here thieves like Hondas and big names.

It used to be all about the Honda Civics for thieves...

Great picture. What is also interesting (and relevant to someone who lived in New York in 80s and 90s) is that the window has been left open. Many people left their windows open back then to prevent thieves from smashing the window to look for a radio or other valuables (especially if you didn't have a radio or other valuables). Also ubiquitous were the "NO RADIO" stickers people put on there windows (even if they had a radio, in an attempt to ward off potential thieves).

I thought Honda Accords would be on this list ??

Well my car did not get stolen but everything in the trunk did last night. I broke a fan belt and left it sitting overnight while I found a new fan belt and someone busted the door lock and got into the trunk to take my tools (that I needed to put on a new fan belt), tripod, communication equipment and my backpacking tent. I don't understand why some people feel the need to prey on fellow man.

Sorry that happened to you. Is never fun.

And they seem to often/always COVET #TOOLS ! I had my ladder, some tools, & even my firewood taken (and that wood was my Main form of heat ) - man, was i pissed

This comment has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

haha...Great post! A little levity goes a long way sometimes. In light of your article and those HILARIOUS pics, I leave ya'll with this:

One day a blonde frantically phoned the police to report that thieves had broken in and completely stripped her car apart.

"They've stolen the dashboard, the steering wheel, the brake pedal, even the accelerator," she cried out in desperation. However, before the police investigation even begab, the phone rang a second time and the same voice came over the line. "Nevermind, I got in the back seat by mistake."

Peace!

Greetings friends steemit, I am very happy to meet you in this steemit, successful greetings

only mr bean could do that hahah :D

OMG crazy shit!

That's an unexpected list. I thought BMWs, Mercedes and Porshes will top that list! The ways people secure their cars is too funny! I am not sure if the last one is legal, but it's definitely gonna keep thieves away! I came across this creative way and thought I'd share 😂

Yeah this looks awesome! :D

@sweetibo Thanks! It's super creative

I have to wonder if that is a surveillance van. It would work very well in a low income area.

@finnian I agree. It could really work well for that purpose! Great idea by the way 😜

LOL, this is unbelievable!!!

Bmw is not in the list :)

Good thing that my car isnt in the list

I'm free of car thefts, because i do not have one. I found the skeleton very funny inside the car, hahaha

Lol hahahaha i never seen something like this you make me lought hahahaha @joseph

The best defense is a garage. If you leave a car on a city street for long, it will be broken into eventually. Most of the time it is a smash and grab as others post repliers had happen to them.

My car is not in a garage, but there is a light next to it and a camera watching it. If you are really worried about your car being stolen, get a GPS tracker like us private investigators use.

P.S. I am self upvoting only to get past the spammers.

Fourth one is the funniest.

Interesting that the Hyundai Sonata is on the list; I owned 1 of the first models to come out (when I lived on West Coast).

And then I see, also, that Hyundai Elantra hits the list at #8. Imagine my surprise - well, color me stupid ! I did not KNOW that Hyundai's were so highly prized.

Btw, that 6th IMAGE caused me 2 chuckle .. with the Body laying in the car ! Shit..

I guess I know which cars not to buy if I ever get rich from crypto. Nice post, shows good humor and also gives out valuable info too!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85