This is how I feel when people say "Beautiful Pictures" in a reply to my post when they clearly haven't read it.

in #funny7 years ago

Have you ever made a nice long blog post and received a reply that said beautiful pictures?

Maybe you wrote a movie review and you sourced your picture from IMDb.

Perhaps you wrote a review of the latest flavored bag of Oreos and you took a picture at the grocery store.

When you look through the replies inevitably one will just say....

Beautiful Pictures.

Just yesterday my friend @marxrab reviewed a bag of chips at her local grocery store and she got a reply saying "Beautiful pictures. I wish I was there."

https://steemit.com/food/@marxrab/dale-earnhardt-jr-sells-potato-chips-now-are-they-a-winner
Check her post out here.

I wrote a post yesterday as well in which I reviewed the 80s movie called The Wraith.

The only picture in that entire review was the sourced image from IMDb.com.

Yet I got a comment stating what beautiful photography I used.

So here is how I feel when people say beautiful pictures in a reply when they clearly haven't read the post.


Original Source: Giphy.com

I can definitely understand wanting to get your name out there and posting in as many threads as possible.

However, if you are not willing to take the time to actually read the post then how can you possibly expect to get an upvote from the poster?

That is saying....

"I'm not willing to take the time to read what you wrote. However, I want to post something so that you can pay me for nothing."

There are several new and annoying methods I'm seeing newer posters using to get votes, but I think beautiful pictures is my least favorite one right now.

Of course there's a new one I found out about today that I'm really liking as well.

https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@jeezzle/yxqaw-color-challenge-thursday-green

One of my replies said "upvote @jeezzle" .

Of course I assumed it meant that they upvoted me.

Checking the votes I noticed that they actually didn't upvote me and I had to come to the conclusion that instead of telling me they were upvoting me they were in fact asking me for an upvote.

Asking me for an upvote without first upvoting me and without even looking like they had read the thread or given any attention to any work I had done.

Granted that post wasn't my best work but still........ it's the effort that counts.

You make an effort......... you get a reward.

You don't make an effort........... how can you expect to ask me for a reward?

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this and found it funny.

Follow me @jeezzle

Sort:  

What a great pic.........hahaha lol
Sorry just joking. I totally understand what u mean. I think its rude to just comment and not upvote or read the post at all.
So many amazing people who puts a lot of effort writing about their trips,arts, lifes etc
And kind enough to share.
I love reading posts and to see what people ate all about. What they like, whats in their life. I would hate to miss that.
The worst I got in a comment were someone linking to her own post......wanted an upvote
Ehhhh.....not working on me.
Thx for sharing. Im with u 100%
UPVOTED truly means what I say.....lol

Great reply and I really appreciate the effort and the upvote. Steemit is all about reading and rewarding each other's work. Each of us are independent Publishers trying to get our work seen....... and even the comments are published work. People that subvert the common courtesy system for some little gain without giving back are people that I don't think I would want to associate with.

So true. Nothing is free without hard work.
And it shouldnt be, just think how many great posts and amazing people u miss out on by acting like that.
I didnt join for the money I wanted to meet people and I was blown away by the content here and I coment on everything I read and I always answers.....thats how I learned how to write and just be myself and write from the heart ♡ reaching out and togdther is a great place to be. Supporting and inspiering each other :0)
Like u I dont follow or want to associate with people who doesnt want to lift a finger to even try to make an effort.
Thanks for ur wisdom :0) like what u say and think

pretty jpeg... hehe (maybe i upvoted) lol

Naw just messing with you, i did upvote, because i had a good laugh. haha
even followed lol (no reciprocity required), i followed in the hopes of another laugh

Thanks for the mention. Someone told me a picture of a sign that says "We have hay" at the farm shop was breathtaking. I had a good laugh about that one. I feel like it's been really bad lately. I don't know if it's because I'm getting more SP but I haven't had as many spammers as I'm getting now. The one that annoys me is the people who don't vote but are trying to get you to vote for their comment. I always stop and check these days because I don't want to reward spammers.

I check if I've only got like 14 votes but once it goes past that then it's real pain in the butt to check. I wish everyone would just be required to vote before they commented....... maybe we will get that functionality in Hard Fork 20 or 21.

totally agree, nice pictures btw.

I assume you were being sarcastic and joking so gave you an upvote.

hahaha the first comment! I see what you mean, I comment in lots of posts and I see same ppl everywhere writing same stuff all the time or just straight up kissing-asses like no tomorrow. I think it's up to authors to realize which comments are like that and which are a sincere reply.

Great comment, I appreciate you taking the time to read the thread and leaving a meaningful comment like this.

Really great post and I understand u liked it cause the pics are amazingđŸ˜Š @jeezzle

Wow, The Wraith was a horrible movie. Anyway, nice pictures

Anyone that doesn't like The Wraith has an opinion that is of no value to me. Upvoted anyway since you clearly read the post.

I guess I deserved that for not liking The Wraith.

I think you deserve it for not upvoting the main post and I've also removed my vote. How do people get off not voting for the post when they're replying to it?

Oops, I should have done that. My mistake!

No worries. Thanks for reading the thread and thanks for the upvote.

It could be several reasons for not upvoting and still replying I think.
Especially for minnows who cant decide with the slider how much power they want to vote with. They will quickly drain their voting power if they were to vote a lot.
However many (me included) still want to genuinely engage in peoples posts and get to know people. That surly must be of equally worth as upvoting?

If you can't decide then just vote at 1%. Even voting at 1% means that you cared enough to offer your vote. It's not really about the money it's about caring.

That was my point: I dont have a slider that allow me to vote 1%. Every vote I do is 100% and that drains my voting power really quickly. So If I´ve already voted a lot one day and see a post I like then I will comment to show value and engagement to the post.

Thank You @cryptopet for saying my thoughts as well, add to the fact the mixed messages of draining your account to zero or just feeling out what is the truth of the upvotes and minnows. Without a slider we have 10 upvotes at 100%, rest of any upvotes we are dead in the water.

Maybe some of them will simply grow out of it, maybe not...

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.95 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 21 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Exactly! Like I told @marxrab Steem Inc is going to have to make some changes to do something about the spam. Maybe they will go away if more people will stop upvoting them. Seems like they are using a bunch of bandwidth and add zero value!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62934.10
ETH 2452.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66