The definition of the word/term "BUGGER" (Goodnight Post)

in #funny7 years ago

A lot of people out there who claim to know the English language, just don't seem to understand what all the word/term "Bugger" actually means, nor how it is used, nor when it is used.

Here is one of the definitions:

Technically means to sodomize, but most people use the word in a variety of situations, often without realizing the true meaning.

It is often considered these days to be more acceptable that the word 'fuck' (as long as you are not in the presence of anyone old enough to remember the actual meaning).
BUGGER! (when something goes wrong.)

Bugger-me! ('Well I'll be damned..')

Bugger THAT! (When you can't be bothered doing something.)

That bugger stole my Holden! (used to refer to a person in a derogatory manner.)

I decided to let the bugger enjoy it. (used in reference to a friend or someone you feel sorry for.)

I must've buggered that question.. (messed up)

Bugger-off! ('Get lost!')

Source of the definition: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=bugger

HOWEVER, THE DEFINITION MAY BE A LITTLE OUT OF SYNC WITH REALITY!

So I have managed to find a video of an Australian TV Ad (Commercial) in which some very appropriate uses of this word are seen in action:

BUGGER, BUGGER, BUGGER, BUGGER!

Every night before going to bed, I try and find something to share that can put a smile on all our faces, sometimes when looking through all the material available I don't know if I should cry or laugh! BUGGER IT!


& when I can't laugh at you, I'll laugh at me!

So, in my good ol' tradition I wish a:

Goodnight to everyone where it is night time, Good morning to everyone where it is morning and G'day to everyone else.

Yours truly

Jack

OUT

PS. Time to BUGGER OFF... I'm going to bed!

Sort:  

I think I know another use... I heard english people use it for a dried up snot in the nose. If I understood that right.
And curiously, in german (although spelled Bagger its pronounced the same way) it means digger, or digging machine. I wonder if there is a connection... :)

That's a booger!

Oh ok... I only heard people say it, never seen it in writing. It sounded more like bugger or bogger then.

Bugger me Jack your a funny Buggar.
Now you buggar off to bed its time for us back in Oz to get the day started.

Mate..... in the words of Arnie... "I'll be back"

Mind you, not soon enough, I've had enough of this overseas gig.

Good onya. I'm watching Arnie in Commando on TV now. He even threw in a "I'll be Back".

How funny! I'm going to resteem this @jackmiller, already upvoted.
Most people don't know that the "Bung hole" (which most consider slang for asshole) is the opening in a wooden keg or barrel, into which you place the
bung or spigot.
The English language is truly marvelous, no?

Nice article buddy...!!

@mrainp420 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Haha I never knew the meaning of the word until in college we had an english university physics teacher that told us what the word meant and we didn't believe him until we looked it up ourselves.

Congratulations @jackmiller! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I think the slang of the English language is quite funny. I like to use it when people do not get it. Makes them wonder!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44