HODL - What that term means for CRYPTO trading? Funny story

in #funny7 years ago (edited)

hodling-post-steemit.jpg
(source:)

I was watching another video with crypto news and also some with trading tips.
That guy, was using the term HODL in his formula sheet with his investments.

Hmm, i heard that term so many times till now but never understood it right.

Now, i saw it written and wanted to know what means. I was guessing from that worksheet... but, let's google it :-).

Then, what i found it was a simple and so funny meme till now. Hahaha, so damn nice story.

HODL = HOLD

Somebody mispelled that in the title twice and left it as it is... Then wrote his/her funny post, maybe (for sure :-)))) ) with bachus in mind :-)).
It is a priceless post, hehe.

After that post, they unleashed the fun.
Lots of posts with that HODL who were having fun from that mispelling.

Here is the reddit post where i found the first meaning:

what's HODL? : Bitcointalk.org

and the original post which made that meme:

I AM HODLING - post source for the meme :-))))

So, for other rookies like me, i posted here to know the story behind that term.

Also, its definition.... hahaaa, damn, reading that post will make you laugh hard....

definition-of-hodling-hahaha.jpg
picture source here

And RMEMBER:

hodling-post-steemit-ilvstranger.jpg

I hope you enjoy that i share all info i learn to you.
As it helps me, for sure will help somebody else somtime.

I saw now, unintentional misspelling/missing in the article... hmm, i let it there who knows :-)) (also who found it?)


What do you think about my old (revived) blog? You can subscribe for new solutions at the problems i found or encounter in my digital journey.
https://freewarestyle.blogspot.com
If you got ideas for a post, a problem you have with software, please leave a comment.


Also, please vote and resteem it if you like it.

I have nominated this post for the #minnowsfaucet VIP List,
vote for my post here @minnowsfaucet

Sort:  

Lol...that's funny....I didn't know what it meant ..thanks to you I do now :) :)

How do you think i found that too, hehe... Lot of people talking, me ignoring... and at some point when saw it written just wanted to find out.
Did it and made a post here for others too.

Cheers

Well Thank You for sharing it with me :) :)

Exactly as I thought =)
Just misspelling ...

yes, but it works today too :-)

People just make fun from everything !
;)

and that's how we have a nice life, without boring corporate bs in mind :-)

Congratulations @ilvstranger! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Ohhhhh, I thought it stood for "Hanging On for Dear Life"

I saw that too, but they were just another meaning after the original meme created :-))
Damn... still reading that post and laughing... long time haven't laughed so much...

I like it because to me it rhymes with yodel. And I picture people saying, "HODL-ay-HEE-hoo!"

:-) some there mentioned that too and gaved the original yodel song.
Nice one there!

Found now a description here:

What does HODL mean (except for a typo in the tt)
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=375643.msg4029851#msg4029851

HODL = Hold On for Dear Life
HODL = Hold On to Da Loot

But in the urbandictionarry they keep it as hold:

Urban Dictionary: hodl
http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=hodl

Got it. I think when a new word comes about and people don't understand it they try to make it mean something, like Hold On for Dear Life. Now that I know the story I understand.

If i was not born with english... i will hear and interpret lot of words in a different way as they are. And mistakes can remain in memories that way :-).
I have time when i say things wrong because i don't speak with english people a lot lately and having it in my mind wrong it remains that way till corrected.

But you should see in games chat what words appear there almost daily :-))) hehe.
That's the fun of life. You want to impose something you want people to know and can't succeed and from a mistake you may even not saw, it became viral.

Also in my language, even if i'm not a kid anymore, i try to find meanings to some acronyms or to car number plates (we have 3 letter at our choice here) and then make fun of the owner.
They usually laugh of what cross my mind.
So, have fun!

That sounds like fun! I do the same thing when I try to speak other languages, especially if it has been many years.

Congratulations @ilvstranger! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

We think alike!
My analysis recently nailed the bitcoin cash explosion up and have made many profitable calls. Please check it out: https://steemit.com/@haejin

You don't have a website where to see them more grouped?
Now i gotta go to sleep, but will check them tomorrow.

Here i did asked about some advice but got no answers... i just wanted some ideas in that moment, without making somebody responsible for them... eh:

QUICK TRADE on Bitcoin now? BTC to Steem, ETH, XRP or USDT? on Bittrex - what to buy for holding? — Steemit

Also, i didn't hodl it then... just bought some other altcoins. Not much, but for fun and diversify my small amount.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84