Funny Bone - some comic relief

in #funny6 years ago (edited)

Well, in the year I've been here I've learned that often enough the best thing to do is to just share what is in my head. Often, this has scared people, upset them, sometimes even delighted them. And I figured that for once, what I share should make them (well, you) smile.


seinf.gif

Because sometimes, on days like this, all I have going in my head are jokes. Now, I have refrained in the past from sharing funny videos, this being a most serious blog and all, but not anymore. I figure you deserve a laugh, as much as anyone, and since the only thing I seem to be doing at the moment is watching amusing videos, I thought I would share these, in the hopes I might convince some people that monsters and other ghouls are not the only thing running through my mind.

I've always been a huge fan of comedy, a love that started I believe with obsessive Seinfeld watching, but only matured when I discovered Monty Python. I don't really think I need to tell you much more than that. Other, perhaps, than – if you don't know what I'm talking about, shame. Shame on you. Really.

I've spent the better part of my life being in love with John Cleese and taking him as a personal model and while there are many varied, worthwhile MP sketches, I did just come across this Life of Brian scene in my feed, so I take this as a sign from the gods above.


Now, a particularly pleasant surprise I had the other week, also while scrolling through my Facebook (I know) was coming across this delightful stand-up by the enchanting Camilla Cleese, John's daughter and a phenomenon in her own right.
So, if you're a Monty Python fan (and if you're not, just get out now, please, I do not want to have to put the dogs on you), check her out below.

But then I grew up, you know, and while I still loved Monty Python, I found I craved novelty and that novelty presented itself in the form of a tall, hairy Scotsman by the name of Billy Connolly. I spent many a night watching his stand-ups. A veritable powerhouse he was, this amazingly funny man who often couldn't help his laugh while telling a joke. And I've always been quite obsessive by nature, so when I fell in love with Billy, I fell all the way. To this day, I know many of his routines by heart. And boy, am I glad.

But life can not be reduced to devastatingly funny British men, much as I'd like, and the Americans eventually came into the picture. George Carlin was a wonderful discovery to me – because he was more than a funny man, it seemed. He was this great mind and although he made you laugh, the fourteen year old me couldn't help but be thrilled that she was also learning about politics and that great, big world out there. Needless to say, he shaped a lot of my thinking and often, one of the voices in my head will turn out to be his.
One of the great things about Carlin – other than the fact he had balls – is that there are actually two eras of Carlin. There's the early Carlin, which was heavily drug-fueled and more silly-oriented. Terribly funny, still, but with a more comedic approach.


And then, there's the later years Carlin, when he got more into politics and his shows focused more on the world and everything that's wrong with it, rather than random jokes. Both delightful, nevertheless and showcasing a brilliant mind.

Another brilliant American comedian (gone way too soon) is Robin Williams. Although he wasn't as “big” to me as the others, he surely had a wonderfully unique zanyness to him that just spoke to me. He was this brilliant guy who saw so much of the funny, had such a great talent in him. Okay, writing this gets a bit sad, so I'll stop, 'cause that is not the point. We're here to laugh, not cry.

Mitch Hedberg was another great funny man who went far too soon. There was something so special in the laid back way he delivered jokes, like you were just hanging out on his couch with him. I spent many a night listening to him, laughing my head off, refusing to sleep so I could listen to one more set.

Well, no one else seems to come to mind. Returning to Brits, there's of course Rik Mayall, but I've spoken of my love for him before many times. A genius, if ever I heard one, he could make you laugh and cry in the same sentence, although he usually made you cry with laughter, so the best kind indeed. But here, I can't recommend one show, only a whole career. Funny to the bone.

And Blackadder and Absolutely Fabulous and that whole generation should be watched too. Oh, of course, how could I forget Rowan Atkinson? Jesus, silly me. I stayed away from him for a long time, actually, because like many, I just thought of him as Mr Bean. But he is so much more. Really, check out some of his earlier work. Tremendous.

I hope I made you laugh.

Thank you for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Source: Youtube

Sort:  

😎 You had me at Monty Python HD!

You're a keeper for sure!

I could watch Monty Python endlessly...Sort of like *the endless running in this scene...

So could I! :)))) I love this scene!

Great taste in comedy!

If you have Netflix, check out the show Norsemen. I thought it was going to be a cheesy action series but it's actually a dark comedy with a lot of Python elements to it. We were wondering how they got the Norwegian accents so good, then we discovered it was actually filmed in Norway - and they did each scene twice, once in English and once in Norwegian. Also, the show is politically incorrect in a way I think you and your mum would like.

Thank you!! We'll definitely check it out - it sounds really interesting ;)

Also, the show is politically incorrect in a way I think you and your mum would like.

I take that as a compliment ;)

@winstonalden my mom and I are loving Norsemen :)) it's super funny! Thank you for the recommendation 🤗

I knew it would be up your alley. I'm so glad you like it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Jehovah! Jehovah!

You're only making it worse..

Shhhhhh don't tell anyone cos I don't want my British Citizenship taking away but I can't stand Monty Python ;-)
I have however, popped up to give you a few more to have a look at on your almost perfect list.
Eddie Izzard, the early stuff like ' Dress to Kill'

and a more recent one, Stewart Lee

as for comedy series, two slightly older ones that often slip under the radar are 'Waiting for God' and 'Keeping up Appearances' :-)

Getting excited about Steemfest yet ? its soon!!!!!!!!

Ah I was going to include Eddie, as he was an early love as well. However, my passion for him has waned somewhat in recent times...he's gotten too political. But yeah, Dress to Kill and all that was hilarious. I did not know Stewart, though, I'm checking him out right now. And he seems real funny.

:O :O :O
How can you not like Monty Python? :O :O :O

Yes, I'm very excited about SF, it's just around the corner and I'm already mentally-packing :D Can't wait!

Great can't wait to see the pictures of everyone having a ball :-)

Sharing what is on our minds to make people entertained are good deeds, when we always share a joke and people like to read it, isn't that a fun thing?
Blog tips have different characteristics, depending on the author, I like to read your writing because everything looks natural, the storyline works properly without being forced to make an opinion, succeeding @honeydue

An excellent list.
Have you ever looked at 'peep show' (David mitchell's career start).

You got a 37.84% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @honeydue!

Love monty python!!! My dad can quote the whole movie! lol And omg I used to watch Mr. Bean. Is that a British thing? Can't remember.

I'm from the states but I watched it as a kid...again, 'cause of my dad haha.

I'm not sure where Mr Bean started, but Rowan Atkinson is definitely British :)
Good upbringing, that is ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62860.75
ETH 3112.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86